'When you go after someone who's five years younger' - Virat Kohli takes jibe at Rassie van der Dussen after he survives close call in Cape Town

‘When you go after someone who’s five years younger’ – Virat Kohli takes jibe at Rassie van der Dussen after he survives close call in Cape Town

Rassie van der Dussen and Virat Kohli
Rassie van der Dussen and Virat Kohli. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Indian captain Virat Kohli was seen fuming again after another DRS decision went in favor of South Africa. The incident happened during the 37th over on day four of the third Test. The third umpire ruled South African batter Rassie van der Dussen not out after it looked like the bat had hit the ground.

On the first ball of the over bowled by Mohammed Shami, van der Dussen tried to drive and failed. Rishabh Pant, behind the wicket, caught the ball and started appealing along with the other Indian players. Umpire Marais Erasmus felt the ball had not touched the bat and judged van der Dussen not out. Kohli referred the decision upstairs after a brief discussion with the team when just one second was left on the DRS timer.

After going through the replay, the third umpire concluded that the bat had actually touched the ground and the same was caught by UltraEdge. There was a second spike just when the ball had passed the bat and it looked like it was actually touching the bat. The third umpire asked the on-field umpire to stay with his original decision and van der Dussen survived. Kohli went to Erasmus to have a brief discussion as he was not convinced with the decision.

While returning, Kohli had a go against van der Dussen. “When you go after someone who is five years younger than you,” Kohli was caught saying in the stump mic to van der Dussen. He was referring to the incident when van der Dussen sledged Pant during the second Test in Johannesburg.

“Focus on your team as well when they shine the ball” – Virat Kohli said on day three

It was not the first time that a decision went against India, as the same happened on day three. Dean Elgar was ruled not out by the third umpire after the ball-tracking showed unusual bounce after hitting the pads. When Kohli and teammates saw the decision going against them, they all hurled a few words in the stump mic.

Kohli’s words made a lot of noise as he referred to an incident of ball-tampering that happened a few years back. “Focus on your team as well when they shine the ball at eh, not just the opposition. Trying to catch people all the time,” he said.