Which player will receive how much at CSA's new T20 league?

The overseas players are set to receive humungous amount of money.

View : 20.1K

22 Min Read

Faf du Plessis
Faf du Plessis. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

Between CSA’s New T20 league and the UAE’s ILT20, a signing war has already started. ILT20, UAE’s maiden franchise-based tournament, published a list of prominent international players who registered for the league’s inaugural season earlier on Monday. Now, it’s the CSA’s new T20 league that has confirmed the signing of 30 premier international players for its inaugural edition.

Big names from the South African, English, West Indies, New Zealand, Irish, and Sri Lankan teams have been drafted by the six franchises that will compete in the tournament. Notably, all the six franchises are owned by the Indian Premier League franchises, who will try to get their IPL players in their CSA team as well. One such signing was that of Faf du Plessis.

The former South African skipper, who had been a part of the Chennai Super Kings franchise for almost a decade, moved to the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the 2022 edition. Even the CSK management felt bad for not being able to retain him at the mega auction. But as per recent developments, it has come to notice that CSK has drafted Du Plessis for a whopping value of $350,000 for their CSA franchise.

Overseas players major attractions in the league

As per a list released by ESPNcricinfo, Liam Livingstone and Jos Buttler are the highest-paid signings so far in the league. The two have been drafted for $500,000 followed by English all-rounder Moeen Ali, who has been drafted for $400,000. Du Plessis remains to be the third highest as of now.

If reports are to be believed, Rashid Khan, Livingstone, Kagiso Rabada, and Sam Curran are set to play for the Mumbai Indians-owned franchise. Du Plessis and Moeen Ali will join CSK’s franchise, whereas Anrich Nortje will play for the Delhi Capitals-owned franchise. Aiden Markram, Jos Buttler, and Quinton de Kock will join Sunrisers Hyderabad, Rajasthan Royals, and Lucknow Super Giants-owned franchises respectively.

A team of 17 players will represent each of the six franchises. They will have the option to sign up to five players prior to the auction, which will include three overseas players, one Proteas player, and one uncapped South African player. As of now, Mumbai Indians have named their franchise as MI Cape Town.

Here’s a list of what the drafted players will be receiving at CSA’s inaugural league:

Sr. No.PlayersAmount
1.Liam Livingstone, Jos Buttler$500,000
2.Moeen Ali$400,000
3.Faf du Plessis$350,000
4.Kagiso Rabada, Quinton de Kock, David Miller, Eoin Morgan, Sam Curran$300,000
5.Jason Holder$290,000
6.Jason Roy$275,000
7.Aiden Markram, Anrich Nortje$250,000
8.Tymal Mills$225,000
9.Rilee Rossouw, James Neesham, Dushmantha Chameera$200,000
10.Obed McCoy, Alzarri Joseph$187,500
11.Kyle Mayers, Romario Shepherd, Reece Topley$175,000
12.Chamika Karunaratne$150,000
13.Philip Salt$140,000
14.Jayden Seales, Harry Brook$125,000
15.Will Jacks, Maheesh Theekshana, Matheesha Pathirana$100,000
16.Harry Tector$80,000
17.Akila Dananjaya$75,000
18.Niroshan Dickwella, Seekkuge Prasanna, Nuwan Pradeep$50,000
19.Dhananjaya Lakshan, Vishwa Fernando$30,000


Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store