WI vs IND: Hardik Pandya dons captain's hat as Rohit Sharma rested for dead rubber

Rohit Sharma suffered a back spasm and went off the field in the fourth T20I.

Hardik Pandya in third ODI against England.
Hardik Pandya (Photo Source: Twitter/BCCI)

View : 221

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

West Indies and India are up against each other in the fifth T20I in Lauderhill, Florida, on August 7, Sunday. India have already clinched the series 3-1 after their win in the previous game on Saturday. India captain Rohit Sharma has been rested for the match and all-rounder Hardik Pandya is the make-shift skipper for India on the day.

Rohit also suffered a back spasm and went off the field midway through the third T20I. He featured in the following game and finished with 33 runs off 16 balls. Hence, it could also be the case of resting the India skipper as a precautionary measure with the series already in the kitty for the Men in Blue.

India make four changes

Notably, India won the toss and elected to bat first. Apart from Rohit, India have also rested Suryakumaar Yadav, Rishabh Pant and Bhvneshwar Kumar. India opened the innings with Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan, with Deepak Hooda and Sanju Samson following the duo. Skipper Pandya, Dinesh Karthik and Axar Patel are the other recognized batters.

The left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav is back in the team, and India’s bowling lineup also comprises Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh and Ravi Bishnoi. India’s interim skipper, Pandya reckons the batting could get slower in the second innings. The stadium is packed with a number of Indian supporters. 

“We don’t feel we are playing in Miami but in some Indian city. Fantastic to come abroad and get this support,” said Pandya at the toss. “We spoke to the boys that no matter what happens, we have set some standards for the Indian cricket team so the intensity and the attitude stays the same.”

The Windies skipper Nicholas Pooran also said that they wanted to bat first. They make four changes as well with Kyle Mayers, Brandon King, Alzarri Joseph and Akeal Hosein going out, and Shamarh Brooks, Hayden Walsh, Odeon Smith and Keemo Paul coming in.

West Indies playing XI: Shamarh Brooks, Devon Thomas (wk), Nicholas Pooran (c), Shimron Hetmyer, Rovman Powell, Jason Holder, Odean Smith, Keemo Paul, Dominic Drakes, Obed McCoy, Hayden Walsh

India playing XI: Ishan Kishan, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Pandya (c), Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh