WI vs SL: Windies announce Test squad for Sri Lanka series

WI vs SL: Windies announce Test squad for Sri Lanka series

Devon Smith came back to the squad after three years.

Raymon Reifer of the West Indies
West Indies. (Photo by Anthony Au-Yeung/Getty Images)

The Windies will host Sri Lanka for a three-match Test series, which begins on June 6. Trinidad, St Lucia and Barbados are the venues for the encounters. They recently announced a 13-man squad for the same. Jason Holder retains his position as the skipper. The most glaring inclusion is that of left-handed batsman Devon Smith, who played his last Test three years ago.

He was in stupendous form in the regional four-day tournament, playing for the Windward Islands. The left-handed batsman scored 1095 runs at an average of 84.23 to go with six centuries. The 36-year old played his last Test against England back in April 2015 at the St Georges Park. The team slumped in their previous Test series versus New Zealand and will be keen to turn their fortunes around in the series.

“We have retained the core of the Test team as they remain competitive even after a tough series in New Zealand. Devon Smith had an outstanding year and players who excel to that degree should be recognised. We are trying to improve our top order batting performances,” Courtney Brown, the Chairman of selectors, mentioned as quoted by Cricbuzz.

The new inclusion

Jahmar Hamilton is the second wicket-keeper along with Shane Dowrich. The 27-year impressed during Windies A’s series versus the England Lions (A team) in March. He notched 199 runs in three innings, which caught the eyeballs of the selectors. He has been doing the rounds in first-class cricket ever since 2008 and currently represents the Leeward Islands in the domestic circuit.

“Jahmar Hamilton comes into the squad after consecutive strong performances over the last three years and showed even better quality in the ‘A’ team series against the England Lions. We wish the team every success,” the former Windies cricketer added.

Here is the squad

Jason Holder (capt), Devendra Bishoo, Devon Smith, Kraigg Brathwaite, Kieran Powell, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich (wk), Shannon Gabriel, Jahmar Hamilton (wk), Shimron Hetmyer, Kemar Roach, Shai Hope


[interaction id=”5b067e5852c7f3223af9f0f4″]

Stay updated on ‘today’s cricket news‘ with CricTracker.com.