Women's Premier League (WPL) Teams and Players list

The preparations for the inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League have been in full swing as the auction of the Women’s T20 extravaganza was held on 13th February (Monday). The tournament will feature five franchises namely Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Capitals, Gujarat Giants, and UP Warriorz.

These five teams will be seen competing in the tournament to win the inaugural edition of WPL which is expected to revolutionize women’s cricket in the world. The WPL schedule for the inaugural edition is also out with the tournament set to be entirely held in Mumbai from March 4 to March 26. A total of 22 matches will be played throughout the tournament which will be held across two stadiums- the Brabourne Stadium and the DY Patil Stadium.

Star Indian opener Smriti Mandhana was the most expensive player in the auction as she was bought for a whopping INR 3.4 crore by the Royal Challengers Bangalore. Apart from Mandhana, Australian all-rounder Ashleigh Gardner and England’s all-rounder Natalie Sciver-Brunt were sold for INR 3.2 crore each to Gujarat Giants and Mumbai Indians respectively.

More than 400 players were shortlisted in the final auction list as all five franchises built strong squads with an aim to win the inaugural edition of WPL. With all the franchises having several big names in their teams, it will be interesting to see which team tops the WPL points table to make it to the playoffs in the first edition of the tournament.

Earlier, the BCCI got a whopping INR 4,669.99 crore as the collective bid when five firms acquired the WPL franchises. The broadcast rights for the premier women’s T20 tournament were sold to Viacom 18 for a massive amount of Rs 951 crore. The five-year deal will see the world’s richest cricket board earning INR 7 crore per match of the Women’s Premier League.

With the squads finalized and the schedule announced, the excitement for the Women’s Premier League is palpable. Fans will be eagerly waiting to see their favorite female cricketers light up the tournament with their scintillating shots, unplayable deliveries, and breathtaking catches.

1. Mumbai Indians (MI) Squad 2023

Player Name Role Price Details
Harmanpreet Kaur Batter 1.8 crore
Nat Sciver All-rounder 3.2 crore
Amelia Kerr All-rounder 1 crore
Pooja Vastrakar All-rounder 1.9 crore
Yastika Bhatia Wicket-keeper 1.5 crore
Heather Graham All-rounder 30 lakh
Isabelle Wong All-rounder 30 lakh
Amanjot Kaur All-rounder 50 lakh
Dhara Gujjar Batter 10 lakh
Saika Ishaque Bowler 10 lakh
Hayley Matthews All-rounder 40 lakh
Chloe Tryon All-rounder 30 lakh
Humairaa Kaazi All-rounder 10 lakh
Priyanka Bala Batter 20 lakh
Sonam Yadav Bowler 10 lakh
Jintamani Kalita All-rounder 10 lakh
Neelam Bisht All-rounder 10 lakh

2. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Squad 2023

Player Name Role Price Details
Smriti Mandhana Batter 3.4 crore
Sophie Devine All-rounder 50 lakh
Ellyse Perry All-rounder 1.7 crore
Renuka Singh Bowler 1.5 crore
Richa Ghosh Wicket-keeper 1.9 crore
Erin Burns All-rounder 30 lakh
Disha Kasat Batter 10 lakh
Indrani Roy Wicket-keeper 10 lakh
Shreyanka Patil All-rounder 10 lakh
Kanika Ahuja All-rounder 35 lakh
Asha Shobana All-rounder 10 lakh
Heather Knight All-rounder 40 lakh
Dane van Niekerk All-rounder 30 lakh
Preeti Bose Bowler 30 lakh
Poonam Khemnar All-rounder 10 lakh
Komal Zanzad Bowler 25 lakh
Megan Schutt Bowler 40 lakh
Sahana Pawar Bowler 10 lakh

3. Gujarat Giants (GG) Squad 2023

Player Name Role Price Details
Ashleigh Gardner All-rounder 3.2 crore
Laura Wolvaardt Batter 2 crore
Sophia Dunkley Batter 60 lakh
Annabel Sutherland All-rounder 70 lakh
Harleen Deol All-rounder 40 lakh
Deandra Dottin All-rounder 60 lakh
Sneh Rana All-rounder 75 lakh
Sabbineni Meghana Batter 30 lakh
Georgia Wareham All-rounder 75 lakh
Mansi Joshi All-rounder 30 lakh
Dayalan Hemalatha All-rounder 30 lakh
Monica Patel Bowler 30 lakh
Tanuja Kanwer All-rounder 50 lakh
Sushma Verma Wicket-keeper 60 lakh
Hurley Gala All-rounder 10 lakh
Ashwani Kumari All-rounder 35 lakh
Parunika Sisodia Bowler 10 lakh
Shabnam Shakil Bowler 10 lakh

4. Delhi Capitals (DC) Squad 2023

Player Name Role Price Details
Jemimah Rodrigues Batter 2.2 crore
Meg Lanning Batter 1.1 crore
Shafali Verma Batter 2 crore
Radha Yadav All-rounder 40 lakh
Shikha Pandey All-rounder 60 lakh
Marizanne Kapp All-rounder 1.5 crore
Titas Sadhu Bowler 25 lakh
Alice Capsey All-rounder 75 lakh
Tara Norris Bowler 10 lakh
Laura Harris Batter 45 lakh
Jasia Akhter Batter 20 lakh
Minnu Mani All-rounder 30 lakh
Taniyaa Bhatia Wicket-keeper 30 lakh
Poonam Yadav Bowler 30 lakh
Jess Jonassen All-rounder 50 lakh
Sneha Deepthi Batter 30 lakh
Arundhati Reddy All-rounder 30 lakh
Aparna Mondal Wicket-keeper 10 lakh

5. UP Warriorz (UPW) Squad 2023

Player Name Role Price Details
Sophie Ecclestone Bowler 1.8 crore
Deepti Sharma All-rounder 2.6 crore
Tahlia McGrath All-rounder 1.4 crore
Shabnim Ismail Bowler 1 crore
Alyssa Healy Wicket-keeper 70 lakh
Anjali Sarvani Bowler 55 lakh
Rajeshwari Gayakwad Bowler 40 lakh
Parshavi Chopra All-rounder 10 lakh
Shweta Sehrawat Batter 40 lakh
S Yashasri All-rounder 10 lakh
Kiran Navgire Batter 30 lakh
Grace Harris All-rounder 75 lakh
Devika Vaidya All-rounder 1.4 crore
Lauren Bell Bowler 30 lakh
Laxmi Yadav Wicket-keeper 10 lakh
Simran Shaikh Batter 10 lakh