Women’s World T20 2018: Day 7- Preview

Women’s World T20 2018: Day 7- Preview

The crowd can expect for another crackerjack of a day in the tournament.  

Javeria Khan
Javeria Khan. (Photo Source: ICC)

The seventh day of the Women’s World T20 in the West Indies has a couple of matches. Australia and India are unbeaten and while the likes of Pakistan, New Zealand and Ireland have lost a couple of matches and need to pull a rabbit out of the hat in order to qualify for the semis. In the meantime, the Southern Stars have already made their way into the semi-final.

The second semi-finalists from the group may get decided tomorrow. Moreover, a couple of teams, which are set to lock horns in the second match of the day, will be keenly following the first match as their fate depends on it. Both the matches are set to be hosted at Providence Stadium in Guyana. The crowd can expect for another crackerjack of a day in the tournament.

Here’s the prelude of what’s on offer on Day 7 of World T20:

Match 13- India vs Ireland

Mithali Raj is likely to open the batting with Smriti Mandhana as her partner. Jemimah Rodrigues and Harmanpreet Kaur are slotted to come in at number three and four respectively. Veda Krishnamurthy and Taniya Bhatia add depth to the batting. Arundhati Reddy is the lone fast bowler with Poonam, Radha, Deepti and the part-time of Harmanpreet being the spin-bowling options.

India Probable XI

Mithali Raj, Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Veda Krishnamurthy, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Dayalan Hemalatha, Deepti Sharma, Radha Yadav, Arundhati Reddy, Poonam Yadav

Ireland Probable XI

Ireland have to win the match in order to stay alive in the event. Claire Shillington and Gaby Lewis opened the batting the other day with Isobel Joyce to follow. Eimear Richardson and skipper Laura Delany will bat at four and five. Grath, Kavanagh and Waldron will follow. The bowling lineup has been reasonable with the likes of Claire Metcalfe, Lucy O’Reilly and Celesta Raack in the team.

Clare Shillington, Gaby Lewis, Isobel Joyce, Eimear Richardson, Laura Delany (C), Kim Grath, Shauna Kavanagh, Mary Waldron (wk), Lucy O’Reilly, Celesta Raack, Claire Metcalfe

Match Timings: 1:30 IST (November 16); 16:00 local (November 15)

Match 14- New Zealand vs Pakistan

New Zealand Probable XI

For the White Ferns to qualify, Ireland need to defeat India. Suzie Bates and Anna Peterson are the openers. Sophie Devine, being the genuine all-rounder, has to perform. Amy Satterthwaite and Katey Martin are the other batswomen. The spin lineup has Amelia Kerr and Leigh Kasperek who are more than effective with the ball. Rowe and Tahuhu are the fast bowlers.

Suzie Bates, Anna Peterson, Sophie Devine, Amy Satterthwaite (C), Katey Martin (wk), Maddy Green, Bernadine Bezuidenhout, Leigh Kasperek, Hannah Rowe, Amela Kerr, Lea Tahuhu

Pakistan won against Ireland and need to turn over New Zealand as well. They also have to hope for Ireland to beat India. Nahida Khan and Ayesha Zafar will open the batting with skipper Javeria Khan to follow. A lot would depend upon how Nida Dar and Bismah Maroof step up and perform. Nashra Sandhu’s left-arm spinners also need to come to the fore.

Pakistan Probable XI

Nahida Khan, Ayesha Zafar, Javeria Khan (C), Umaima Sohail, Nida Dar, Aliya Riaz, Bismah Maroof, Sana Mir, Sidra Nawaz (wk), Aimen Anwer, Nashra Sandhu

Match Timings: 5:30 IST (November 16); 20:00 local (November 15)

Broadcast Details

TV – Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 1 HD

Live Streaming – Hotstar

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from Women’s World T20 2018, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.