World Cup 2019: ICC picks team of tournament; Kane Williamson to captain

World Cup 2019: ICC picks team of tournament; Kane Williamson to captain

England won the tournament and their players dominate the ICC team as well.

Kane Williamson
Kane Williamson. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The 12th edition of the Cricket World Cup came to a resounding conclusion on Sunday when hosts England beat New Zealand in the Super Over at Lord’s. The two teams ended up with same totals not once but twice in the game and yet the Three Lions tasted their first-ever success on the mega stage by the virtue of hitting more boundaries than their opponents. It was though not a convincing victory for many but yet England are the new champions of ODI cricket.

As the final and the 48th match of the tournament got over, various former cricketers started picking their World Cup XI and the International Cricket Council (ICC) also named the official Team of the Tournament for the just concluded tournament. New Zealand captain Kane Williamson, adjudged the Player of the Tournament.

Williamson scored 578 runs from 10 matches to become the captain with most runs in a single World Cup edition. However, he also went down in history as the unluckiest captain to have not won the trophy because of some bizarre rule. The other New Zealand cricketer who found a place in the team was Lockie Ferguson who had taken a brilliant catch to see the back of England captain Eoin Morgan in the final. The pacer also finished second highest wicket-taker in the World Cup with 21 scalps.

The ICC’s team also comprised of four players from the England side and they are Jason Roy, Joe Root, Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer. Roy played a key role in England’s win as he came back from a hamstring injury during the tournament to give his side some solid opening partnerships in key games along with Jonny Bairstow.

Stokes, on the other hand, was the Man of the Match in the final for his 84 not out that had kept the Three Lions in the hunt till the last and also eight crucial runs in the Super Over. Speedster Archer, who the England side had fast-tracked to play this World Cup, took 20 wickets in the tournament. He also bowled the Super Over for England to deny New Zealand 16 runs from six balls.

Australia have two representatives in the ICC’s XI and they are left-arm spearhead Mitchell Starc and wicket-keeper Alex Carey. Starc made a record as the highest wicket-taker in the World Cup with 27 scalps, surpassing Glenn McGrath’s tally of 26 in the 2007 World Cup.

Rohit Sharma & Jasprit Bumrah in ICC Team of Tournament

India’s Rohit Sharma, who hit five centuries in the tournament and finished as the highest run-getter with 648 in nine matches, and speedster Jasprit Bumrah were also picked. Playing in his first World Cup, Bumrah took 18 wickets from nine games to establish himself as one of the most consistent bowlers in the tournament. The only other Asian to have found a place in the XI is Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan. He scored 606 runs to end as the third highest run-getter and also took 11 wickets.

Also read – ICC World Cup 2019: Best XI of the tournament

A five-member committee comprising former cricketers and currently commentators Ian Bishop, Ian Smith and Isha Guha, ICC General Manager – Cricket Geoff Allardice and journalist Lawrence Booth picked the XI.

World Cup 2019 – ICC’s Team of the Tournament: Jason Roy, Rohit Sharma, Kane Williamson (C), Joe Root, Shakib Al Hasan, Ben Stokes, Alex Carey (wicket-keeper), Mitchell Starc, Jofra Archer, Lockie Ferguson, Jasprit Bumrah