Zimbabwe name 17-member squad for ODI series against India, Regis Chakabva to lead in Craig Ervine's absence

Blessing Muzarabani, Tendai Chatara, Wellington Masakadza and Craig Ervine will miss the upcoming ODI series against India.

View : 950

2 Min Read

Zimbabwe Cricket
Zimbabwe Cricket. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Zimbabwe have been dealt with another blow as their regular skipper Craig Ervine is set to miss the upcoming three-match ODI series against India. Ervine is yet to recover from his left hamstring tear. Apart from him, the hosts will be without speedster Blessing Muzarabani, who has a thigh muscle tear. Zimbabwe will also miss Wellington Masakadza and Tendai Chatara as the former has suffered a collarbone fracture while the latter has a shoulder injury.

Chakabva will be leading the side in the absence of Ervine and this will be a great chance for the youngsters to shine against a quality Indian side. The Zimbabwe side put out a spirited effort against Bangladesh recently and won the three-match ODI series 2-1 on the back of centuries from Sikandar Raza in the first two games.

The three-match ODI series starts on the 18th of August and will go until the 22nd of August. Meanwhile, Shikhar Dhawan was all set to lead India in the absence of the regulars, however, KL Rahul has been declared fit and has returned to the side as the captain, with Dhawan named as his deputy. This will be a major boost for India considering that Rahul has been picked up in the Indian squad for the Asia Cup.

Rahul last played for India in an international match against West Indies in Ahmedabad in February this year and he will be looking to get some runs under his belt with the big tournaments coming up.

Zimbabwe ODI squad for India Series

Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva (c), Tanaka Chivanga, Bradley Evans, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Clive Madande, Wessely Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, John Masara, Tony Munyonga, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba, Donald Tiripano

India Squad: KL Rahul (c) Shikhar Dhawan (vc), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Deepak Chahar.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store