Zimbabwe vs Pakistan: Hosts to miss Solomon Mire in the ODI series

The ODI series gets underway on July 13 (Friday) in Bulawayo.

Solomon Mire
Solomon Mire. (Photo Source: Twitter)

One of Zimbabwe’s most consistent batsmen in limited-overs cricket Solomon Mire played really well in the recently concluded T20I tri-series against Australia and Pakistan. After putting up a decent fight in the T20I series they were expected to do a lot better in the five-match ODI series against Pakistan. However, their plans have suffered a huge jolt as opening batsman Solomon Mire being ruled out of the series due to an injury.

With the ongoing contract issues between Zimbabwe Cricket and the players, their most prominent cricketers Brendan Taylor, Sikandar Raza, Graeme Cremer, Sean Williams and Craig Ervine after giving the tri-series a miss will not feature in the ODIs either. Zimbabwe had earlier lost Kyle Jarvis who fractured his thumb and now Mire will need at least three weeks to get back on the field to recover from the gluteal tear.

“He will be out for at least three weeks as he concentrates on physiotherapy rehabilitation which aims to speed up healing and make sure the tear heals without tight scar tissue formation,” Anesu Mupotaringa, the team physiotherapist said.

Most players who were picked for the tri-series in place of those who opted out have been retained and despite the results, Hamilton Masakadza will continue to lead the side in the ODIs.

Zimbabwe ODI squad for the series against Pakistan: 

Brian Chari, Tendai Chatara, Chamu Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Tendai Chisoro, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Hamilton Masakadza (C), Wellington Masakadza, Peter Moor, Ryan Murray, Tarisai Musakanda, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Liam Roche, Donald Tiripano, Malcolm Waller

The ODI series gets underway on July 13 (Friday) in Bulawayo.

Series Schedule:

July 13 – Zimbabwe vs Pakistan, 1st ODI | Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo

July 16 – Zimbabwe vs Pakistan, 2nd ODI |Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo

July 18 – Zimbabwe vs Pakistan, 3rd ODI | Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo

July 20 – Zimbabwe vs Pakistan, 4th ODI | Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo

July 22 – Zimbabwe vs Pakistan, 5th ODI | Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo

For all the latest cricket news and other updates follow CricTracker.