ICC Awards: The Complete List of ICC 2017 Award Winners | CricTracker

2017 ICC Awards: Full list of award winners

Anya Shrubsole of England won the Spirit of Cricket award.

Virat Kohli | CricTracker.com
Virat Kohli. (Photo by ISHARA S. KODIKARA/AFP/Getty Images)

The much-awaited ICC awards for the calendar year 2017 were announced by the world cricketing body on Thursday. While Virat Kohli ruled by winning the awards in most of the categories, it was Steve Smith who bagged Test Cricketer of the Year. International Cricket Council (ICC) honoured a lot of players for their performances with Rashid Khan becoming the Associate player of the year.

The awards were given away on the basis of the achievements of the players during the period between 21 September 2016, and 31 December 2017. They also announced the Test and ODI teams of the year with the Indian skipper leading both of them following the dream run of the Men in Blue under his leadership.

Here’s a compilation of all the ICC awards:

ICC Umpire of the Year: Marais Erasmus

Marais Erasmus of South Africa won the ICC Umpire of the Year award for the second consecutive year. This award is named against the legendary umpire David Shepherd. Erasmus is known as one of the reliable decision makers in the international arena and has taken over the mantle on the field in 47 Tests, 74 ODIs and 26 T20Is so far in his career. He was also the on-field umpire in the final of the ICC Champions Trophy last year played between India and Pakistan.

ICC Fans’ Moment of the Year: Pakistan’s CT 2017 triumph

Pakistan winning the Champions Trophy last year was picked as the Fans’ moment of the year by ICC. The Men in Green stunned everyone as they turned the tables on their arch-rivals India in the title clash. Moreover, they were written off after losing their opening game against India but won every game after that to be reigned supreme under the inspired leadership of Sarfraz Ahmed.

ICC Associate Cricketer of the Year: Rashid Khan

Undoubtedly, Rashid Khan has been the best player amongst the Associate nations. He has taken the burden of Afghanistan’s hope on his shoulders at such a young age of 19. He scalped 60 wickets in 2017 alone which is a record for an Associate player in a calendar year. Afghanistan will make their Test debut this year and he would want to excel at the international level as well.

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Hasan Ali

Hasan Ali rejuvenated his career in the Champions Trophy last year and was a key element in their title triumph in England. The youngster has been performing consistently in the ODI format ever since then and picked at least a wicket in 13 consecutive matches. He also scalped 3 wickets in five back-to-back ODIs for his country.

ICC T20I Performance of the Year: Yuzvendra Chahal

Yuzvendra Chahal won the award of the best T20I performance of the year. The leg-spinner has cemented his place in the limited overs Indian sidepa. His sensational spell of 6/25 against England in January last year won India the series in Bengaluru. Ever since then, he has featured in almost all the ODIs and T20Is for his country.

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli was magnificent with the bat last year churning runs at his will and with ease. He smashed as many as 6 centuries taking his tally to 32, only 17 tons behind the legendary Sachin Tendulkar. He brings his ‘A’ game while chasing in the format and has won the matches single-handedly for India averaging almost 93 in successful run-chases.

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year: Steve Smith

Australian skipper Steve Smith was named the Test Cricketer of the Year 2017. The runs were absolutely flowing from his bat and recently shouldered the responsibilities of the whole batting line-up in the Ashes by scoring 687 runs at an unreal average of 137.40. He was also compared with the all-time great Don Bradman at one stage as Smith boasts the second best average of around 63 in 61 Test matches.

ICC Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the Cricketer of the Year award. He was brilliant across all the formats for the Men in Blue scoring double centuries for fun in the longest format. Also, he was amazingly consistent in the T20s and the only player to boast the average of over 50 in all three formats of the game.

ICC ODI Team of the Year

Virat Kohli has been named as the skipper of the ODI team of the year for his unbeaten captaincy record throughout the year 2017. The team consisted of the likes of David Warner, AB de Villiers and Ben Stokes as well. This playing XI will surely beat any team on their day as they ruled the cricketing arena in the coloured clothing last year

ODI XI: David Warner, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), Babar Azam, AB de Villiers, Quinton de Kock (wk), Ben Stokes, Trent Boult, Hasan Ali, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah.

ICC Test Team of the Year

Virat Kohli continued to rule the Test team as well after winning all the Test series during the grand home season of Indian cricket. The inclusion of Steve Smith was a no-brainer in this side as Mitchell Starc was the only other Australian in the line-up. Cheteshwar Pujara and R Ashwin also made it to the XI following some stunning performances during the year.

Test XI: Dean Elgar, David Warner, Virat Kohli (c), Steve Smith, Cheteshwar Pujara, Quinton de Kock (wk), Ben Stokes, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mitchell Starc, Kagiso Rabada, James Anderson.

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award: Anya Shrubsole

Anya Shrubsole of England Women’s team won the Spirit of Cricket award. The moment which won the hearts of everyone was Anya consoling the gutted South African captain Dane Van Niekerk after losing the semi-final of the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup. The match went right down to the wire but Anya’s heroics with the bat left the South African girls heartbroken.

Catch more developments on this and top leading cricket news on CricTracker.