5 Oldest surviving records in Twenty20 cricket

Here we look at five major records in T20 cricket which haven’t been broken for more than a decade.

Mark Boucher
Mark Boucher of South Africa. (Photo by Gallo Images/Getty Images)

The Twenty20 cricket is the youngest format in professional cricket has it has a life span of little below 17 years. The format officially began in 2003 during English domestic season with the introduction of Twenty20 Cup. The new format came into existence at the International level inside two years.

These 17 years were enough to witness some variety of records due to the increase in demand for the format. In this article, we look at some of the records from the T20 format which are active for more than a decade at least.

Here we look at five major records in T20 cricket which haven’t been broken for more than a decade:

5. Most consecutive wins (2010)

Sialkot Stallions
Sialkot Stallions. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Many teams have registered pretty long winning streaks in the recent times but have fell a long way behind of the biggest winning streak ever recorded in the Twenty20 cricket. It is Sialkot Stallions who hold the record as they won 25 consecutive matches in the T20 format which they played across six domestic competitions between 2006 and 2010.

The Sialkot team won each and every match played in the T20 tournaments during 2005-06, 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09 and 2009-10 Pakistan domestic seasons. They began the 2010-11 Domestic tournament with a win to extend their winning streak to 25.

The dream run finally came to an end in 2010 October when Sialkot fell 14 runs short of a 198-run chase against Rawalpindi Rams. The Stallions were 163/4 in 15.1 overs during the chase but scored only 21 runs in the last 29 balls when 35 runs were required. No team other than Sialkot till date managed to win more than 15 consecutive matches in the Twenty20 format.


Page 1 / 5