5 players who can be the Player of the Tournament in the World Cup 2019

Some colossal names in the list.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma. (Photo by Matt King/Getty Images)

It’s 2019 and it’s the World Cup year. It is certainly one of the biggest events in the history of the game and all eyes will be on the mega event which is scheduled to get underway on May 30 in England and Wales. There have been quite a few players who have been very consistent in white-ball cricket over the last year or so.

Hence, with the World Cup just four months away, let’s chalk down five players who could turn out to be the player of the tournament for the upcoming World Cup. It is an award that greats like Martin Crowe (1992), Sanath Jayasuriya (1996), Lance Klusener (1999), Sachin Tendulkar (2003) and Glenn McGrath (2007) have won in the past. Mitchell Starc was the winner in the last edition (2015) while Yuvraj Singh won it back in 2011.

Here are 5 players who can win the player of the tournament award in the CWC 2019:

Mohammad Hafeez

Mohammad Hafeez, Pakistan, SAvPAK
Mohammad Hafeez. (Photo by Richard Huggard/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

Mohammed Hafeez hasn’t had the best of times in the recent past as far as ODI cricket is concerned. He had an average 2018 with the bat and he hardly bowled. However, he has started off this year on an excellent note. Batting at No. 4, Hafeez has already made a couple of excellent half-centuries against South Africa. He took the team over after a middle-order wobble and helped Pakistan finish the games.

When Pakistan batted first, he provided impetus to the innings as he scored a 45-ball 52 setting it up for the big hitters down the order. Hence, with Babar Azam coming in at 3 and playing the role of an anchor, Hafeez will have the opportunity to continue what he’s done in South Africa so far. At 4, he can control the game and if early wickets fall, he also has the ability to arrest the slide and bat according to the game situation.


Page 1 / 5