Aditya Tare named Mumbai skipper for their high-voltage contest against Tamil Nadu

Aditya Tare named Mumbai skipper for their high-voltage contest against Tamil Nadu

The Mumbai squad for the clash again Tamil Nadu also includes Shreyas Iyer and Prithvi Shaw among others.

Aditya Tare
Mumbai Ranji Trophy skipper Aditya Tare. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Mumbai selectors have named a fairly strong 15-man squad for their second match of the Ranji Trophy, which is to be played between October 24-27 at the MCA Sharad Pawar Cricket Academy Ground in Bandra Kurla Complex. Aaditya Tare will lead the side which will feature the likes of Shreyas Iyer, Dhawal Kulkarni and young sensation Prithvi Shaw.

17-year old Shaw was set to participate in the U-19 Asia Cup but India’s junior selectors released him and made him available for the Ranji clash. Tare didn’t play the opening game against Madhya Pradesh as his wife was due to give birth to their child around that period of time. Even though Mumbai were short on experience, but they did well to earn three points after taking a first-innings lead against MP in Indore. On the other hand, Tamil Nadu have grabbed four points from their two outings against Andhra Pradesh and Tripura. And just like Mumbai, TN are heavy on experience with ace spinner Ravichandran Ashwin joining the visiting team.

Vijay will look to pack a punch

Murali Vijay, who has been named in the Indian squad for their upcoming home series against Sri Lanka, will look to get some runs under his belt ahead of his return to international cricket. With both sides boosted with big names, the clash promises to be a mouthwatering one.

Mumbai squad: Aditya Tare (captain), Surya Kumar Yadav (Vice Captain), Abhishek Nayar, Akhil Herwadkar, Siddhesh Lad, Jay Bista, Sufiyan Shaikh, Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer, Dhawal Kulkarni, Vijay Gohil, Akash Parkar, Roystan Dias, Mi-nad Manjrekar, Aditya Dhumal.

Tamil Nadu squad: Abhinav Mukund (captain), B Indrajith (vice-captain), M Vijay, M Kaushik Gandhi, B Aparajith, Vijay Shan-kar, N Jagadeesan (WK), M S Washington Sundar, R Sai Kishore, Rahil S Shah, K Vignesh, R Ashwin, V Yo Mahesh, L Vignesh, R Rohith (WK) and V Ganga Sridhar Raju.