Afghanistan Cricket Board announces the fixtures of domestic T20 league

The tournament will see its 6th season getting underway from 7th October 2019.

Afghanistan players
Afghanistan players. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Afghanistan has vastly developed in the last decade in terms of cricket. This year Afghanistan were also successful in winning their first Test match in history. Now, the Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) has been taking steps in bringing their domestic league back after a gap of one year.

Shpageeza Cricket League which is being played among 5 regions of Afghanistan but a sixth team Kabul Eagles, officially sponsored by Aatif Mashal was added in the 2015 edition. In this tournament players from different countries take part along with the players from A team and Under-19 team, as well as players from the elite performer from the respective region, participate in this tournament.


Tournament to start on October 7

ACB has announced the fixtures of the Shpageeza Cricket League which is an annual domestic T20 cricket tournament. This will be the 6th edition of competition going to kick off from 7th October 2019 and its final will be played on 17th October.

The tournament was not played last year because of the bomb blast incident that took place in 2017 when a suicide bomber blew himself up near Kabul International Stadium during the match between Boost Defenders and Mis-E-Ainak Knights.

Many foreign players like Cameron Delport, Morne van Wyk, Glenton Stuurman and Abdul Razak (South Africa), Hamilton Masakazda and Solomon Mire (Zimbabwe), Rayad Emrit (West Indies) have featured in this league, but the unfortunate incident had forced the many players to leave. It will be important to see which foreign players will get the NOC from their respective boards to play in this league this year.

Many players from the national team are expected to feature as well. Each team will get to play five matches during the league stages and the tournament will enter into the playoffs towards the end which is similar to the format of IPL.

Band-e-Amir Dragons are the defending champions but Spin Ghar Tigers has been the most successful team of this tournament who has lifted the trophy twice in six seasons of Shpageeza Cricket League.