All-time T20 International XI in 1000 matches

All-time T20 International XI in 1000 matches

When it’s about the shortest version, a few players have become household names over the years.

Shahid Afridi
Shahid Afridi. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Back on August 5, 2004, the first ever T20I between England and New Zealand women’s team took place. A few months later in February 17, 2005, it was the turn of the Australia and New Zealand to feature in the maiden men’s T20I. In 2007, the inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup in South Africa took centre-stage.

Ever since, the format has come a long way and has captured the imagination of the fans. It’s 2019 and on November 3, 2019, T20 International cricket was a witness to it’s 1000th match. India and Bangladesh played at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi with the visitors winning the game.

The format has survived more than 15 years now and over the times, there have been many, who went on to rule T20Is. When it’s about the shortest version, a few players have become household names.

In the article, let’s take a look at the all-time T20I International XI after 1000 matches.

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma. (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

Rohit Sharma may not have had a great 2019, but he can be regarded one of the greats of the game in the shortest format. In 99 matches, the right-hander scored 2,452 runs at an average of 31.84 with a strike-rate of 136.67. Rohit is the only batsman with as many as four T20I centuries to go with 17 half-centuries.

The Mumbai batter has also hit 109 6s, the most by anyone in the format. He went past Chris Gayle’s tally of 105 T20I 6s. Moreover, he still holds the record of the fastest T20I century off 35 balls along with South Africa’s David Miller and Czech Republic’s Sudesh Wickramasekara.

Rohit accomplished the feat versus Sri Lanka back in December 2017 in Indore.  At the age of 32, he has quite a bit of cricket left ahead of him and is speculated to break many records.