Arjun Tendulkar added to Mumbai squad for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Mumbai are placed in Group E along with Delhi, Kerala, Haryana, Andhra and Puducherry.

Arjun Tendulkar
Arjun Tendulkar. (Photo Source: Twitter)

View : 20.1K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Arjun Tendulkar, the son of the legendary Sachin Tendulkar, has been added to the Mumbai squad for the upcoming edition of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 trophy, scheduled to get underway on January 10. The young left-armer has earned his maiden call-up to the Mumbai senior team after making his U19 debut against Sri Lanka way back in 2018.

Earlier, Arjun played in the warm-up matches, but couldn’t impress the selectors and hence was left out initially. However, he has managed to break into the Mumbai team for the T20 tournament. Fast bowler Krutik Hanagavadi have been added to the squad as well.

Along with Hanagavadi and Tendulkar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Minad Manjrekar, Tushar Deshpande and Prathamesh Dake are the pacers.

“Three days back, the BCCI allowed all the teams to pick 22 players, as all the players will be a part of a bio-bubble, and even net bowlers and replacements can’t be called up from outside. Arjun and Hanagavadi were thus added to the Mumbai squad as it’s 21st and 22nd members,” a source in the Mumbai Cricket Association told The Times of India.

“Earlier the BCCI had asked to select 20 players. But later they said that 22 players can be selected in the squad, accordingly, the two players were added to the squad,” an MCA official mentioned earlier.

Suryakumar Yadav to lead Mumbai

Mumbai are placed in Group E along with Delhi, Kerala, Haryana, Andhra and Puducherry. Their matches are on January 11, 13, 15, 17 and 19. The knockout matches are set to take place in Ahmedabad.

In the meantime, Mumbai won’t be having the services of Shreyas Iyer, who’s recovering from a shoulder injury that he sustained during the tour of Australia.

Suryakumar Yadav would be leading the team with Aditya Tare as the vice-captain. Mumbai haven’t had the best of campaigns in domestic cricket over the last two years and they would be looking to make amends.

Here’s the updated squad

Suryakumar Yadav, Aditya Tare, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Aakarshit Gomel, Sarfaraz Khan, Siddhesh Lad, Shivam Dube, Shubham Ranjane, Sujit Nayak, Sairaj Patil, Tushar Deshpande, Dhawal Kulkarni, Minad Manjrekar, Prathamesh Dake, Atharva Ankolekar, Shashank Attarde, Shams Mulani, Hardik Tamore, Akash Parkar, Sufiyan Shaikh, Arjun Tendulkar, Krutik Hanagavadi