Asia Cup 2022: Predicting India's 15-member squad for the tournament

Asia Cup 2022: Predicting India’s 15-member squad for the tournament

India won the previous two editions of the Asia Cup in 2016 and 2018.

Indian team
Indian team celebrates with the Asia Cup trophy. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The 15th edition of the Asia Cup will be held between August 27 and September 11 in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). India will go into the tournament as the defending champions, and this will only be the second time the competition will be played in the T20 format. It was initially announced that Sri Lanka would host the 2022 Asia Cup. But due to the ongoing economic crisis in the country, the hosting duties were handed to the UAE. There will be six teams in the tournament divided into two groups.

India, Pakistan and the Qualifier are in Group A, and Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka are in Group B. Two teams from each group will qualify for Super 4, and the top two teams from this stage will qualify for the finals. The finals will be played in Dubai on September 11. Meanwhile, India will be looking to defend their title and at the same time, fine tune their squad given that the T20 World Cup is set to be played in October-November later this year.

Here is India’s predicted 15-member squad for the 2022 Asia Cup:

1. Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma (Photo Source: Twitter)

The captain of the team and one of the best white ball batters over the last decade, Rohit Sharma is the first name on the team sheet for India. He was also the India captain for the last edition in the absence of Virat Kohli.

Rohit has not been among runs lately, which is a concern for the side. In 2022, he has scored 246 runs in 11 T20Is at an average of 22.36 and a strike rate of 132.25 with one fifty. He also had a tough time with the bat in the England tour in the T20Is.

However, his knock of 64 off 44 balls in a 68-run win in the first T20I against West Indies showed that it is only a matter of time before the ‘hitman’ gets going again. He also has a stellar captaincy record of winning 27 times in 33 games in the T20Is.

Page 1 / 15