Asia Cup 2022: Sri Lanka announce 18-member squad for the tournament

Matheesha Pathirana has been named in the squad for Asia Cup 2022.

Sri Lanka Cricket Team
Sri Lanka Cricket Team. (Photo Source: Buddhika Weerasinghe/Getty Images)
Manoj Kumar

Jr. Staff Writer

View : 1.8K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Dasun Shanaka will lead Sri Lanka in the upcoming Asia Cup 2022 as Sri Lanka has announced an 18-member squad for the Asia Cup 2022. While most of the names were expected and retained from the previous series, Matheesha Pathirana is among the talents who might be unearthed in the international setup for the first time. The 19-year-old pacer has been compared to Lasith Malinga for his slinging action, and he was impressive in the two games he played for the Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2022.

Sri Lanka last played a T20I series against Australia in June, where they lost 1-2 but managed to script a historic ODI series victory against the men in yellow. The Island nation will start its campaign against Afghanistan on the 27th of August at the Dubai International Stadium in Group B fixtures. Group A will comprise of India, Pakistan and one more country, which will be decided from the qualifiers.

Sri Lanka was originally set to host the tournament, but it had to be shifted to UAE due to the country’s economical crisis, which included months of food and fuel shortages, blackouts and runaway inflation. The home series against Australia saw the Sri Lankan fans arriving in numbers to see their country in action.

Dinesh Chandimal returns to the squad

Veteran batter Dinesh Chandimal has found a place in the squad after his recent performances in the Tests against Pakistan, and his experience might be a key factor for the Sri Lankan side. Niroshan Dickwella and Kusal Perera were among the notable names missing out from the squad, while the likes of Danushka Gunathilaka and Pathum Nissanka have proved to be a good opening combination at the top of the order.

Meanwhile, Kasun Rajitha and Binura Fernando have been ruled out after having picked for the Asia Cup and will not travel with the team to the UAE. They sustained injuries during the recently concluded SLC Invitational T20 League.

Sri Lanka squad: Dasun Shanaka (captain), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Ashen Bandara, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanidu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama, Dushmantha Chameera, Chamika Karunaratne, Dilshan Madushanka, Matheesha Pathirana, Dinesh Chandimal, Nuwanidu Fernando.