Australia vs Sri Lanka Head to Head | Australia vs Sri Lanka H2H Stats & Records in T20 World Cup

Australia vs Sri Lanka Head to Head record in T20Is and T20 World Cup

The head-to-head record can’t differentiate Australia and Sri Lanka in T20Is.

Australia cricket team
Australia cricket team. (Photo by AAMIR QURESHI/AFP via Getty Images)

The upcoming clash of the T20 World Cup 2021 will see Australia locking horns with Sri Lanka. The encounter takes place at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Thursday (October 28). Both sides are coming off victories and would like to add two more points to their tally. While Australia defeated South Africa by five wickets in a low-scoring thriller, Sri Lanka stunned Bangladesh by chasing down 172. Considering the on-paper strength of both sides, Australia might take the field as favourites. However, the Lankan side is used to playing in such spin-friendly conditions.

Head to Head record:

The head-to-head record can’t differentiate Australia and Sri Lanka in T20Is. Both sides have played 16 T20Is and each other and walked away with eight victories apiece.  As far as World Cup clashes are concerned, the head-to-head record is 2-1 in Australia’s favour. Although these numbers suggest both teams are standing at par, the Lankan team’s performance has dipped down a lot in recent years.


Played Won by Australia Won by Sri Lanka Tie No Result
16 8 8 0 0

T20 World Cups 

Played Won by Australia Won by Sri Lanka Tie No Result
3 2 1 0 0

Top performers:

Veteran Australian opener David Warner boasts of a tremendous record against Sri Lanka. He has scored the most runs (447) in the clashes. Among active cricketers, the dasher is followed by Glenn Maxwell (281) and Aaron Finch (217). Among the bowlers, Adam Zampa has picked up the most wickets (14). He is followed by Lasith Malinga (12) and James Faulkner (10).

Last T20 World Cup meeting:

As mentioned above, these two sides have met five times in T20 World Cups. The last of those meetings occured in the 2010 edition. It was a one-sided affair as the Lankan Lions couldn’t do much. Batting first at Bridgetown, the Men in Yellow posted 168/5 thanks to a sparkling 85 from Cameron White. Michael Hussey also scored a quick-fire 39.

Chasing the challenging total, Sri Lanka lost wickets at regular intervals and their defeat became the mere matter of time. Left-arm pacers Mitchell Johnson and Dirk Nannes spitted venom with the ball and took five wickets between them. As a result, Sri Lanka were folded for 87, losing the game by 81 runs.


Date Winner Won By Venue
20 Sep 2007 Australia 10 wickets Cape Town
8 Jun 2009 Sri Lanka 6 wickets Nottingham
9 May 2010 Australia 81 runs Bridgetown
31 Oct 2010 Sri Lanka 7 wickets Perth
6 Aug 2011 Sri Lanka 35 runs Pallekele
8 Aug 2011 Sri Lanka 8 runs Pallekele
26 Jan 2013 Sri Lanka 5 wickets Sydney
28 Jan 2013 Sri Lanka 2 runs Melbourne
6 Sep 2016 Australia 85 runs Pallekele
9 Sep 2016 Australia 4 wickets Colombo (RPS)
17 Feb 2017 Sri Lanka 5 wickets Melbourne
19 Feb 2017 Sri Lanka 2 wickets Geelong
22 Feb 2017 Australia 41 runs Adelaide
27 Oct 2019 Australia 134 runs Adelaide
30 Oct 2019 Australia 9 wickets Brisbane
1 Nov 2019 Australia 7 wickets Melbourne

T20 World Cups 

Date Winner Won By Venue
Australia won 10 wickets Cape Town
Sri Lanka lost 6 wickets Nottingham
Australia won 81 runs Bridgetown

For all the latest T20 World Cup live scores, news, schedule, point table & updates, stay tuned to CricTracker.