Bangladesh vs Windies: Shakib Al Hasan returns to lead hosts in the opening Test

Bangladesh vs Windies: Shakib Al Hasan returns to lead hosts in the opening Test

Liton Das didn't find a place in the squad.

Shakib Al Hasan
Shakib Al Hasan. (Photo Source: ICC)

After locking horns with Zimbabwe in the ODI and Test series, Bangladesh are now scheduled to lock horns with the Windies in two Tests, three ODIs and three T20Is. The tour starts with a warm-up match between Bangladesh Cricket Board XI and Windies at MA Aziz Stadium in Chittagong. The opening Test is set to be played from November 22 at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong.

In the meantime, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced a 13-man squad for the first Test. The massive development comes in the form of all-round cricketer Shakib Al Hasan’s return to international cricket. He is also set to take the leadership role from Mahmudullah Riyad, who captained the national team against the Zimbabweans in the veteran cricketer’s absence.

Four omissions for the Tigers

Shakib has been suffering from a finger injury ever since January this year and it aggravated during Bangladesh’s campaign in the Asia Cup in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). He went to Dhaka to get an operation done after which he travelled to Australia for another surgery. Previously, the experienced campaigner postponed the surgery in order to participate in the multi-nation tournament.

Meanwhile, there were as many as four omissions from the previous squad. Liton Das, who could only manage 47 runs against Zimbabwe, has been left out. Abu Jayed didn’t play the second Test against Zimbabwe and now has been sidelined from the first encounter against the Caribbean team as well.

Shafiul Islam didn’t get a game against Zimbabwe and he hasn’t been persisted with by the selectors. Left-arm spinner Nazmul Islam Apu, who was the least effective among the three players, the other two being Taijul Islam and Mehidy Hasan Miraz, has been sidelined as well.

Here is the squad

Shakib Al Hasan (C), Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mohammad Mithun, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Ariful Haque, Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Taijul Islam, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Naeem Hasan

[interaction id=”5bea359ec141406b15d1301b”]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on