Bangladesh vs Windies: Tamim and Shakib to make their ODI comeback

Bangladesh vs Windies: Tamim and Shakib to make their ODI comeback

Dhaka and Sylhet will host the three matches.

Shakib Al Hasan
Shakib Al Hasan (Photo Source: GIUSEPPE CACACE/AFP/Getty Images)

Bangladesh are currently brimming with confidence as they managed to beat the Windies 2-0 in the Test series. After annihilating the Caribbean team in Chittagong by 64 runs, the Tigers registered their biggest victory in the format by an innings and 184 runs at Sher-E-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka. The hosts are now scheduled to play the Windies in three ODIs, starting December 09.

Dhaka and Sylhet will host the matches. In the meantime, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has recently announced a 16-man squad for the 50-overs format. The series will also mark the comeback of left-handed opening batsman Tamim Iqbal, who hasn’t played any competitive cricket ever since Bangladesh’s contest against Sri Lanka in the Asia Cup in the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Mortaza to lead the team

The veteran suffered a wrist injury and retired hurt midway through his knock. Prior to the ODI series, BCB XI will face the Windies in a practice match on December 6 at Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium, Fatullah and Tamim would be a part of the match as well. Shakib, who didn’t play against Zimbabwe after his finger injury, would also be making a comeback to the ODI team.

The all-rounder recently became the Player of the Series in the red-ball fixtures against Kraigg Brathwaite’s men. He also missed a part of the Asia Cup and had to fly back to Dhaka in order to undergo a surgery. The team would be led by Norail Express Mashrafe Mortaza.

All-rounder Mosaddek Hossain, who was lackluster in the Asia Cup, has again been left out. Fazle Mahmud, after getting his maiden international cap against Zimbabwe, has again been sidelined. Experienced medium pacer Nazmul Islam hasn’t been included either.

Here is the squad

Masrafe Mortaza (C), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan (vc), Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nazmul Islam Apu, Mohammad Mithun, Saif Uddin, Abu Hider Rony, Ariful Hoque

[interaction id=”5c00fdd88f812f51820d18a7″]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match Predictions, Fantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on