BBL 2019-20: Final, Sydney Sixers vs Melbourne Stars – Yet another loss in the final for Stars, Philippe’s record season, Sixers’ hat-trick over Stars and more stats

All the statistical highlights from the rain-affected BBL final which was won by Sydney Sixers.

Sydney Sixers
Sydney Sixers (Photo Source: Twitter)

Sydney Sixers clinched the Big Bash League title for the first time since the inaugural edition as they thumped Melbourne Stars by 19 runs in the home finale. The final game was reduced to 12 overs-a-side following spells of rain after the scheduled start of play.

Josh Philippe’s 29-ball 52 helped the Sixers finish on 116/5 after losing the toss. The Stars got 10 runs from the first three balls of the chase which was the only time they were dominating with the bat in this match. They kept losing wickets after that and could only post 97/6 in the 12 overs.


All the statistical highlights from the rain-affected BBL final which was won by Sydney Sixers:

Yet another defeat in a final for the Stars:

3/3 – Melbourne Stars lost all the three finals they were part of in the Big Bash League history. Previously, they lost to Sydney Thunder by 3 wickets in 2015-16 and against Melbourne Renegades in the 2018-19 season by 13 runs.

A hat-trick for Sixers against Stars:

3 – Sydney Sixers registered their 3rd consecutive win over the Melbourne Stars in this tournament. Stars won the home league match against Sixers by a huge margin where Marcus Stoinis scored a record unbeaten 147 before this 3-match losing streak.

A series to remember for Josh Philippe:

5 – Josh Philippe scored five fifties across 16 innings during this tournament. He is now the first player from Sydney Sixers with five half-centuries in a single edition of Big Bash League. The four fifties by Daniel Hughes in the 2018-19 season are the most for the Sixers in a single tournament.

487 – Josh Philippe has aggregated 487 runs in this tournament; the 2nd most runs by any wicketkeeper in a single edition of the Big Bash League. Matthew Wade leads the list with 592 runs across 15 matches in the 2018-19 season for the Hobart Hurricanes.

Marcus Stoinis @ 700:

705 – Marcus Stoinis became one of the seven players to amass 700+ runs in a Twenty20 series/tournament. He is the 3rd Australian to do so after Mike Hussey (733 in IPL 2013) and David Warner (848 in IPL 2016). Stoinis is also the first player with 700+ runs in a T20 tournament on Australian soil.

End of Haris Rauf’s streak:

0 – Haris Rauf conceded 36 runs in his three overs without taking a wicket. The final match was the first time Haris went wicketless in this competition. He picked up 20 wickets in first nine matches with at least one wicket in all those games.

Nic Maddinson’s poor record:

10.75 – Nic Maddinson averages 10.75 in the Big Bash League for the Melbourne Stars; the 4th lowest batting average for a team in the BBL. (Min: 20 innings) Only Adam Zampa (8.1 for Stars), Sean Abbott (8.97 for Thunder) and Daniel Sams (9.2 for Sixers) had lower averages in the BBL for a team than Maddinson for the Stars.

7.2 – Maddinson now has featured in five Big Bash League finals across which he aggregated only 36 runs at an average of 7.2. His scores in the BBL finals are 10, 19, 1, 6 and 0.

Watch: Irfan Pathan’s interview post his retirement