BCB announces preliminary squad for West Indies tour

BCB announces preliminary squad for West Indies tour

All five injured players have been included in the team.

Bangladesh team
(Photo Source: Twitter)

Bangladesh had a really busy schedule until the recently concluded Nidahas Trophy, which did not quite end as they would have wanted it to be. But what is gone is gone and now Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) are concerned about the upcoming series against West Indies. They have already announced a preliminary squad that will travel to the Caribbean.

The Bangla tigers are expected to play two Tests, three ODIs and as many T20Is against West Indies in a tour that will begin this July. The players will report to the National Team Strength & Conditioning Coach Mario Villavarayen on May 13. However, two of their prized assets are busy with their Indian Premier League commitments. While Shakib Al Hasan is doing wonders for Sunrisers Hyderabad, Mustafizur Rahman is playing his trade for Mumbai Indians.

Among those who got a call, 19-year-old medium pacer Yeasin Arafat is the surprise pick, who got rewarded for his excellent performances in the domestic circuit. However, Tushar Imran and Naeem Islam were not as lucky as their superb domestic form went neglected. Shuvashish Roy and Sanjamul Islam are the notable omissions.

Speaking to Cricbuzz, chief selector Minhajul Abedin said “Certainly they (Tushar and Naeem) have performed well in the domestic arena but we are interested to include them in the Bangladesh ‘A’ team squad. We are focused on picking players for the primary squad keeping in mind that we have to play a series of international matches and as a result, the squad should consist of players who can replace certain players in case of emergency.”

Giving some relief to the Bangladeshi fans, Abedin confirmed that the five injured cricketers who are currently going through rehab – Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Taskin Ahmed and Mehedi Hasan Miraz – will be fit to join the squad.

Bangladesh’s preliminary squad for West Indies tour: Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Mahmudullah Riyad, Liton Das, Mominul Haque, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Naeem Hasan, Abu Hider, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Rubel Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Mosaddek Hossain, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Abu Jayed, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Nazmul Islam, Mohammad Mithun, Ariful Haque, Shafiul Islam, Shadman Islam, Yeasin Arafat, Abul Hasan Raju, Abdur Razzak

A short series against Afghanistan in the pipeline

Before Bangladesh head off west, they are expected to lock horns against Afghanistan in short series. The series is expected to be held in June and will be played in India.

[interaction id=”5af077e369f1ea5c3e6f62ed”]

Stay updated on ‘today’s cricket news‘ with CricTracker.com.