BCCI announces India A squads for Sri Lanka A and Windies A series

For the series against the West Indies ‘A’, Manish Pandey was chosen as the captain for the One Dayers.

Wriddhiman Saha
Wriddhiman Saha. (Photo by Brendon Thorne/Getty Images)

View : 30.9K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on :

Wicketkeeper-batsman Wriddhiman Saha, who hasn’t played for India for over a year now and was out of the game for quite some time, is set to return to the national set-up. The Bengal gloveman has been picked for the India ‘A’ squad for the series against Windies ‘A’ in July and August.

The 34-year-old suffered a shoulder injury last year and found himself out of the tour of South Africa. He played in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 but then was out till February this year when he made a return to cricket via Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament. He also played a few matches for Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2019.

Shaw on way back to India team since the injury in Australia

Prithvi Shaw, the teenage opener who made a memorable international debut last year by slamming a hundred on debut against the Windies at home, has also been picked for the squad which was announced by the All-India Senior Selection Committee on Tuesday.

The 19-year-old was one of India’s high hopes in the series in Australia last December-January but an ankle injury ahead of the first Test ruled him out of the entire series and he is now waiting for his chance to return to the national side. India’s next Test assignment is only in August when they will tour the Caribbeans and Shaw will be trying to regain form in the matches against the Windies ‘A’. The ‘A’ sides will play in five one-day and three four-day games.

The selection committee also announced India ‘A’ squads for two four-day Tests and five One-Dayers against Sri Lanka ‘A’ at home starting May 25. Ishan Kishan was picked as the captain of the four-day squad that featured the likes of Shubman Gill, Shivam Dube, Sandeep Warrier and others. Priyank Panchal was picked as the skipper of the one-day squad that has Rahul Chahar, Ankit Rajpoot, Dube, Warrier and others.

For the series against the West Indies ‘A’, Manish Pandey was chosen as the captain for the One Dayers and Gill was picked for both the One Dayers and four-day games. Shreyas Iyer was set to lead India ‘A’ in the four-day games.

For Sri Lanka A series:

Multi-day: Priyank Panchal (C), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Anmolpreet Singh, Ricky Bhui, Siddhesh Lad, Rinku Singh, Shivam Dube, K.S. Bharat (wk), Rahul Chahar, Jayant Yadav, Aditya Sarwate, Sandeep Warrier, Ankit Rajpoot, and Ishan Porel.

One-day: Ishan Kishan (Capt. & wk), Anmolpreet Singh, Rituraj Gaikwad, Deepak Hooda, Ricky Bhui, Shubman Gill, Shivam Dube, Shreyas Gopal, Washington Sundar, Mayank Markande, Tushar Deshpande, Sandeep Warrier, Ishan Porel, and Prashant Chopra.

Schedule: Multi-day: May 25 to 28 (Belagavi) and May 31 to June 3 (Hubballi).

One-day series: June 6, 8 and 10 (at Hubballi), June 13 and 15 (Belagavi).

For Windies A series:

One-day: Manish Pandey (Capt.), Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Rahul Chahar, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Khaleel Ahmed, and Avesh Khan.

Multi-day (first and second): Shreyas Iyer (Capt.), Priyank Panchal, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Shubman Gill, Hanuma Vihari, Shivam Dube, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), K.S. Bharat (wk), K. Gowtham, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mayank Markande, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, and Avesh Khan.

Multi-day (third): Shreyas Iyer (Capt.), Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), K.S. Bharat (wk), Shivam Dube, Mayank Markande, K. Gowtham, Shahbaz Nadeem, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, and Avesh Khan.

Schedule: One-day series: July 11 (Coolidge Cricket Ground, Antigua), July 14 and 16 (Sri Vivian Richards Cricket Ground, Antigua), July 19 and 21 (Coolidge Cricket Ground, Antigua).

Multi-day series: July 24 to 27 ((Sri Vivian Richards Cricket Ground, Antigua), July 31 to August 3 (Queen’s Park Oval, Trinidad & Tobago) and August 6 to 9 (Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Trinidad & Tobago).

[interaction id=”5cdad1a3df3c8d65e186cf16″]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from the T20 Mumbai LeagueMatch PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.