'BCCI is threatening me' - Herschelle Gibbs reveals that BCCI is trying to prevent him from playing Kashmir Premier League

Former Pakistan cricketer Rashid Latif also tweeted about the same.

View : 31.6K

2 Min Read

Herschelle Gibbs
Herschelle Gibbs. (Photo by Prodip Guha/Getty Images)

Former South Africa cricketer Herschelle Gibbs wasn’t happy with the Board of Control for Cricket in India by any means. He lashed out at the BCCI, also the world’s richest cricket board, for threatening him over taking part in the upcoming edition of the Kashmir Premier League. The star-studded tournament is all set to get underway on Friday, August 6 in Muzaffarabad.

Gibbs, along with the likes of former Sri Lankan cricketer Tilakaratne Dilshan, has been drafted among the six participating teams in the tournament. Gibbs expressed his disappointment, saying that the BCCI has threatened to bar him from cricketing activities in India if he takes part in the KPL.

He took to Twitter and wrote, “Completely unnecessary of the @BCCI to bring their political agenda with Pakistan into the equation and trying to prevent me playing in the @kpl_20. Also threatening me saying they won’t allow me entry into India for any cricket related work. Ludicrous.”

Here’s Herschelle Gibbs’ tweet

Earlier, Rashid Latif, the former Pakistan wicketkeeper, also tweeted about the BCCI’s approach towards the participating players in the Kashmir Premier League.

He took to Twitter and wrote, “The @BCCI warning cricket boards that if their former players took part in Kashmir Premier League, they won’t be allowed entry in India or allowed to work in Indian cricket at any level or in any capacity. Gibbs, Dilshan, @MontyPanesar & several others have been selected in KPL.”

Here’s Rashid Latif’s tweet

Overseas Warriors, Muzaffarabad Tigers, Rawalakot Hawks, Bagh Stallions, Mirpur Royals and Kotli Lions are the six teams in the tournament. Imad Wasim, Mohammad Hafeez, Shahid Afridi, Shadab Khan, Shoaib Malik and Kamran Akmal are the skippers of their respective teams.

Each team will have five players from Kashmir. Back in December 2020, Shehryar Khan, the chairperson of the Parliamentary Special Committee on Kashmir, launched the KPL. Masood Khan, the president of Azad Kashmir, was named the chief patron of the tournament.

Former Pakistan bowler Wasim Akram is the founding vice-president while Afridi is the brand ambassador of the league. The matches will be played at the Muzaffarabad Cricket Stadium, which has a decent capacity of 18,000.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store