'BCCI made him captain for this' - Twitter reacts hilariously as Rohit Sharma wins two tosses in a row

‘BCCI made him captain for this’ – Twitter reacts hilariously as Rohit Sharma wins two tosses in a row

India handed debut cap to Harshal Patel.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Rohit Sharma won his second toss on the bounce against New Zealand, leaving the Indian fans impressed. Rohit took over India’s captaincy duties in the shortest format recently from Virat Kohli, who was certainly not the luckiest as far as fate with coin tosses is concerned, having won only 20 times in the 50 T20Is he led the team.

“We are going to do what we did in Jaipur: field first,” Rohit said on November 19 at the toss. “We have seen it here [in Ranchi], it’s a nice option to go with. Considering the dew factor, it’s good to chase. It was a good effort from the boys. It was good learning for them as they finished the game, it was a good positive to have from that game.”

“The game is such that you need some energy and experience. We have youngsters who want to express themselves, it’s a good setup, it’s important moving forward,” he added.

India hand debut to Harshal Patel; New Zealand make three changes

India handed a second debut cap in as many games, as Harshal Patel made his debut after Venkatesh Iyer’s in Jaipur. Both Iyer and Patel had a brilliant season recently with their IPL teams Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore, respectively.

Patel ended up with the 2021 Purple Cap (awarded to the leading wicket-taker in the tournament) as he equalled Dwayne Bravo’s 2013 tally of 32 wickets for most wickets in a single edition.

The wily medium-pacer had set the tone with a fifer against Mumbai Indians in the tournament opener, and did not look back, ending up with brilliant season average and strike rate of 14.43 and 10.56, respectively. Venkatesh Iyer, meanwhile, tallied 370 runs from 10 innings in the 2021 season at 41.11 and a strike rate only a touch under 130.

Mohammed Siraj, who injured himself in Jaipur, missed out, while New Zealand made three changes: pacer Adam Milne, leg-spinner Ish Sodhi, and all-rounder James Neesham walked in at the expense of Lockie Ferguson, Rachin Ravindra and Todd Astle.

India currently lead the three-match series 1-0, after chasing 165 in the opening game in Jaipur with five wickets in hand.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert(w), James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee(c), Adam Milne, Trent Boult

India: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma(c), Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant(w), Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel

Here’s how Twitter reacted: