BCCI to manage workload of 23 Indian prospects to prevent burnout

The IPL is a long tournament and players sometimes get worn out due to traveling and continuous practice.

A view of logo of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). (Photo by Aniruddha Chowhdury/Mint via Getty Images)

The Indian Premier League is watched by millions of fans all over the world. Players, coaching staff and commentators from all over the world take part in the cash-rich tournament. The tournament is a stepping stone for the players who wish to get in the national reckoning. We have seen in the past that performances in the IPL prompt the selectors to provide national caps to cricketers.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has zeroed in on 23 players who they feel have the capability to play for India and have decided to manage their workload in the Indian Premier League. These 23 players are the ones that are not in the list of players who have central contracts. The list includes players from the Under 19 level and the Ranji Trophy.


Young players are assets to Indian cricket

“The basic plan was to divide the players into three groups. The first group comprises current U-19s. The second group is of old U-19s, where we have players who played U-19 India in last 3 to 4 years. And the third group is of current India A Players,” a senior BCCI office bearer said on conditions of anonymity.

The senior players know how to manage their workload but players who are just starting their career need some advice from the management to keep a check on their workload. Bowlers who are not going to play may be asked to bowl 100 deliveries in training sessions to batsmen. The BCCI steps in to ensure that such players are not taken to extremes as they are our assets and prospective Indian players. The trainers and physios of all eight franchises are required to give an update to NCA regarding the workload management of all these players.

The following players (outside Central Contract) are being specially monitored by BCCI.

Current U-19s: Prithvi Shaw, Shubman Gill, Shivam Mavi and Kamlesh Nagarkoti.

Old U19s: Ishan Kishan, Rishabh Pant, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Sanju Samson.

Domestic, India A: Shreyas Iyer, Washington Sundar, Vijay Shankar, Jaydev Unadkat, Basil Thampi, Deepak Hooda, Mayank Agarwal, Ravikumar Samarth, Navdeep Saini, Siddarth Kaul, Hanuma Vihari, Ankit Bawne.

Stay updated on ‘today’s cricket news‘ with