Ben Stokes and Moeen Ali given a break from County games ahead of ODI series against Windies

The 5-match ODI series against Windies will start on September 19.

Moeen Ali of England
(Photo Source: Getty Images)

Ben Stokes and Moeen Ali, two key figures of England’s ODI setup, have been allowed to take a week’s rest ahead of the series against Windies. The 5-match One Day International series will start on September 19. Chris Woakes, who is also part of the ODI squad, will be available to play a solitary County game for Warwickshire against Essex. England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) made the announcement regarding players’ availability for County games on Sunday.

Essex and Worcestershire will miss the services of Stokes and Ali in the final few games of the ongoing County championship season. On the other hand, Woakes will play against his Test teammate, Tom Westley, who will return and will be available for the remaining competition for Essex. Mark Stoneman, Mason Crane and Toby-Roland Jones will also return to their respective sides for the remaining games of the season.


County teams to miss key players

James Anderson and the former England skipper, Alastair Cook, who are the Test regulars have also been allowed to take some time off. Anderson will sit out of each of the last three fixtures of Lancashire and begin his preparation for the Ashes series whereas Cook is expected to return after resting for a game. Dawid Malan, Liam Dawson and Chris Jordan won’t represent their respective Counties as England is set to take on Windies in the only T20I on September 16.

Yorkshire’s campaign will take a severe jolt as five of their players, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, David Willey, Jonny Bairstow and Joe Root are all unavailable as they are a part of the limited-overs squad. Also, Nottinghamshire will be without Alex Hales and Jake Ball, the availability of the Test specialist Stuart Broad is unclear yet as the results of the scan on his heel is awaited.

After the hard fought Test series, England will take on Windies in a one-off T20Is which will be followed by the 5-match ODI series that concludes on September 29.