• Vijay Hazare Trophy 2017: Best XI of the tournament

    Dinesh Karthik TNPL
    (Photo Source: TNPL)

    A very exciting edition of the Vijay Hazare Trophy came to an end with Tamil Nadu trouncing Bengal in the finals of the tournament. Tamil Nadu were arguably the most settled team in the tournament and thus it could well be said that they were the fitting winners on the day. Taking nothing away from Bengal, they just had a bad day at the office with the bat but surely had several moments to cherish this year.

    The tournament, Vijay Hazare Trophy 2017, in itself was a marvel. After several exciting and thrilling matches competed among the top domestic sides in India, the 25 day carnival ended. During the course of the tournament, there were a lot of highlight moments. The team that bagged most of the headlines this year was Jharkhand. This can largely be accredited to the fact that they had the services of former Indian skipper MS Dhoni.

    Another man who made the headlines was comeback pacer Mohammad Shami. Shami was excellent for Bengal on the day of the finals. All in all, there were many performers who lit up the tournament – some big names and some new heroes on the rise. Here we pick the Best XI of Vijay Hazare 2017 who were the top performers of the season:

    1. Abhimanyu Easwaran – Bengal

    Abhimanyu Easwaran
    (Photo Source: CricFit)

    Bengal opener Abhimanyu Easwaran has been the find of the season for his side. Easwaran had plundered runs at will in the Ranji Trophy this year. He continued his good run in the limited overs too and finished as the second leading run getter in the Vijay Hazare Trophy this year.

    Easwaran amassed 472 runs in the 9 matches that he played with an average of 59. He had two centuries and as many number of fifties in this edition of the tournament. His rare failure came in the big finals against Tamil Nadu where he was dismissed for a single digit score. Needless to add, the team did miss his services.

    Page 1 / 11