BPL 2019-20: Andre Russell to represent Rajshahi Royals in the T20 tournament

BPL 2019-20: Andre Russell to represent Rajshahi Royals in the T20 tournament

Last season, Russell turned up for the Dhaka team.

Andre Russell
Andre Russell, captain of Jamaica Tallawahs. (Photo by Ashley Allen – CPL T20/Getty Images)

Andre Russell, the West Indies all-rounder, is set to turn out for Rajshahi Royals in the 2019-20 Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League (BPL). The Jamaican recently plied his trade for the Darren Sammy-led Northern Warriors in the third edition of the T10 League in Abu Dhabi. Russell hasn’t been picked to play in the three T20Is the Caribbean team is scheduled to play against India.

Russell is the sixth overseas recruit for the Royals after Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Irfan, Ravi Bopara, Hazratullah Zazai and Shoaib Malik. The draft for the upcoming edition took place on November 17 and as per the rule set by the BPL committee, a team can rope in two more foreigners outside the Players’ draft. Malik was the other player to be picked outside the players draft.

Malik and Russell picked out of drafts

Malik, the Pakistan veteran will also be leading the Royals in the T20 league, which will commence on Wednesday, December 11 at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur. The first match will be played between the Chattogram Challengers and Sylhet Thunder. The Royals’ opening game is versus the Dhaka Platoon on Thursday, December 12.

As far as Russell is concerned, he has prior experience of playing the BPL. Last year, he turned up for the Dhaka franchise, captained by Shakib Al Hasan, who won’t be a part of the tournament. There he played some blistering knocks and was also one of their gun bowlers. Apart from Russell, the Royals have Ravi Bopara and Farhad Reza as their seam bowling all-rounders.

The Rajshahi team is yet to win the BPL in the previous seven editions. Back in the 2016-17 season, they qualified for the Final, but lost to the Dhaka Dynamites by 56 runs. Last year, Rajshahi were being led by Mehidy Hasan Miraz, who will ply his trade for the Khulna Tigers. The Royals will be hoping for Russell to fire on all cylinders even for them.

Here is the Rajshahi Royals’ squad

Liton Das, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Abu Jayed Rahi, Minhajul Abedin Afridi, Farhad Reza, Taijul Islam, Alok Kapali, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Nahidul Islam, Irfan Sukkur, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Irfan, Ravi Bopara, Hazratullah Zazai, Shoaib Malik, Andre Russell

[interaction id=”5dcd637bd42ed3f7503f9729″]