BPL 2019: Rajshahi Kings name Mehidy Hasan as the skipper for upcoming season

In the 2016 edition of the U19 World Cup, Bangladesh reached the semifinals under the captaincy of Mehidy.

Mehidy Hasan
Mehidy Hasan. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The preparations for the Bangladesh Premier League are already underway. With just a couple of days to kick off their campaign in the T20 league, Rajshahi Kings have made a major announcement. With Darren Sammy and Mushfiqur Rahim released before the player’s draft, the franchise declared Mehidy Hasan as the skipper for the upcoming season.

The off-spinner has been a part of the Rajshahi unit over the past couple of years. His record has also been impressive, having picked a total of 22 wickets from 27 games. His economy rate is fantastic at 7.15. Alongside his brilliance with the ball, Mehidy is also handy with his batting prowess to show off in the end. The Rajshahi Kings posted the latest development on their Facebook page as per reports in


More to know about Rajshahi and Mehidy

Alongside Mehidy, the other players that were retained ahead of the draft included Mominul Haque, Mustafizur Rahman and Zakir Hasan. The top players in the squad include Netherlands star Ryan ten Doeschate as well. Left-handed veteran Shahriar Nafees was also in line to be handed the captaincy honours but the management chose the youngster to don the role.

The 21-year-old has some leadership experience from the past. In the 2016 edition of the U19 World Cup, Bangladesh reached the semifinals under the captaincy of Mehidy. The youngster was also one of the captains during the Dhaka Premier League. The squad also included Soumya Sarkar, Pakistani cricketer Mohammad Hafeez and Sri Lankan spinner Seekugge Prasanna. They will face Dhaka Dynamites on Saturday, January 5 at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur.

Rajshahi Kings squad:

Mominul Haque, Mehidy Hasan Miraz (captain), Mustafizur Rahman, Zakir Hasan, Qais Ahmed, Christiaan Jonker, Soumya Sarkar, Fazle Mahmud, Arafat Sunny, Alauddin Babu, Isuru Udana, Laurie Evans, Marshall Ayub, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Ryan ten Doeschate, Seekugge Prasanna, Mohammad Sami, Shahriar Nafees, Mohammad Hafeez

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on