Brisbane Heat retain six players for BBL 2017-18

Brisbane Heat retain six players for BBL 2017-18

Brendon McCullum leads the team and Daniel Vettori is the coach of the franchise.

Joe Burns of the Brisbane Heat
Joe Burns of the Brisbane Heat. (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

Brisbane Heat have re-signed six local players for multi-year deals for the upcoming season of Big Bash League, Australian domestic T20 tournament. The seventh edition of the competition will commence from December 19 later this year as the 8 teams will compete for the ultimate glory. The franchise will play their first game against Melbourne Stars in Brisbane at the Gabba in the second match of the tournament.

They have won the second edition of the T20 league and were crashed out after losing the home semi-final last year. This time around though they would love to go one step better and repeat the feat they created in 2013 by beating Perth Scorchers. Heat announced on Wednesday, the signings of Joe Burns, Jimmy Peirson, Mitchell Swepson, Sam Heazlett, Mark Steketee and Marnus Labuschagne – all of whom are locally developed talent having come through the Queensland Cricket pathways system.

The players provide stability to our squad

The former New Zealand skipper, Daniel Vettori is the coach of Brisbane Heat franchise and was excited about the signings. He believed that the squad looks stable now after the inclusion of the aforementioned players. “We feel we are building something special with the current crop of players we have at the Brisbane Heat, and by re-signing Joe, Jimmy, Mitch, Mark, Sam and Marnus it gives our squad stability for the next few Big Bash League seasons,” he said.

“The nature of modern-day T20 cricket means there will constantly be player turnover from season to season, however if we can continue to keep our locally-based players together, then it will help develop the values and culture we are building at the club,” he added. Vettori also claimed that they are investing in the young players like Sam Heazlett and Mitchell Swepson which would reap rewards for the country in the future.

“It is fantastic we can reward someone like Joe Burns who was a key member of the Heat side that won the competition in BBL|02, while we also continue to invest in young talent like Sam Heazlett and Mitchell Swepson who have been recognised as international players,” he concluded. With five positions still to be filled, Vettori and fellow Heat coach Shane Bond are expected to finalise the roster shortly.

Brisbane Heat Squad: Joe Burns, Ben Cutting, Jason Floros, Sam Heazlett, Shadab Khan (international), Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Lalor, Chris Lynn, Brendon McCullum (international, captain), Jimmy Peirson, Alex Ross, Mitchell Swepson, Mark Steketee.