CPL 2018: Shannon Gabriel replaces Junior Dala for defending champions

CPL 2018: Shannon Gabriel replaces Junior Dala for defending champions

“Gabriel is a world-class bowler." - Venky Mysore.

Shannon Gabriel
Shannon Gabriel of the Windies. (Photo by Anthony Au-Yeung/Getty Images)

Windies pacer Shannon Gabriel has been announced as a replacement for South Africa quick Junior Dala in the Trinbago Knight Riders for the CPL 2018 season starting from August 8. The Protea pacer will be busy with his international commitments as South Africa is all set to play in Sri Lanka.

Knight Riders will enter the tournament as the defending champions after they defeated St Kitts and Nevis Patriots in CPL 2017 Final. Gabriel last represented the Trinbago franchise in 2014. After penning the deal with the Windies quick, the team director Venky Mysore termed it as a great feeling to have the pacer and welcomed him to the Knight Riders family. He also added that the team is excited to defend the title in August.

“Gabriel is a world-class bowler, and he has shown that in international cricket. It is great to have him joining the TKR family. We are really looking forward to getting our title defence underway on August,” Venky Mysore, Director of the Knight Riders, said on Thursday as quoted by Cricbuzz.

Trinbago Knight Riders squad for 2018 season: Dwayne Bravo, Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Brendon McCullum, Darren Bravo, Denesh Ramdin, Colin Munro, Shadab Khan, Khary Pierre, Ronsford Beaton, Javon Searles, Kevon Cooper, Nikita Miller, Anderson Phillip, Hamza Tariq, Amir Jangoo, Shannon Gabriel

Dala busy with international commitments

South Africa will travel to Sri Lanka for a full series with two Tests, five ODIs and a lone T20I. While Junior Dala didn’t find a place in the Test squad, he got a chance in the One Day team. He hasn’t played a game for Proteas in ODIs. Along with the pacer, batsman Reeza Hendricks is the other uncapped player in the ODI side.

South Africa’s ODI squad for Sri Lanka series: Faf du Plessis (c), Hashim Amla, Junior Dala, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Lungisani Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi