CPL 2020: Match 9, Trinbago Knight Riders vs Barbados Tridents – TKR’s 50th win, season’s biggest total and more stats

All the statistical highlights from the 3rd consecutive win of Trinbago Knight Riders in CPL 2020.

All the statistical highlights from the 3rd consecutive win of Trinbago Knight Riders in CPL 2020.
Captain Pollard with TKR players. (Photo Source: Twitter)
Sampath Bandarupalli

Sr. Statistician

View : 558

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on :

Trinbago Knight Riders cruised to their 3rd consecutive win of the CPL 2020 as they edged past the defending champions Barbados Tridents by 19 runs. 30-ball 50 from Colin Munro gave a perfect platform for Knight Riders to capitalize on as they finished with 185/3. A large credit for the big total goes to an unbeaten 98-run stand in just seven overs between skipper Kieron Pollard (41 off 17) and Darren Bravo (54 off 36). Johnson Charles, with a 33-ball 52, did cause panic in the TKR dugout but their bowlers contained the Tridents during the middle overs.

All the statistical highlights from the 3rd consecutive win of Trinbago Knight Riders in CPL 2020:

A milestone win for the Knight Riders:

50 – The 19-run win over the Barbados Tridents on Sunday morning is the 50th victory in the history of Caribbean Premier League for the Trinbago Knight Riders. Only Guyana Amazon Warriors (51) are ahead of the Trinidad franchise in the list of most CPL wins.

3 – Trinbago Knight Riders put an end to their 3-match losing streak against the Barbados franchise in the CPL. The Barbados Tridents defeated Trinbago in all the three meetings during the 2019 edition. In overall, this was the 9th win in 16 meetings against the Tridents for TKR in the CPL.

A record total for the TKR:

185/3 – The total of 185/3 by Trinbago Knight Riders is their highest total in the CPL against the Barbados Tridents. Their previous highest against the Tridents in the 2015 season where they made 184/3 at the Queen’s Park Oval.

185/3 – Trinbago’s total of 185/3 is now the highest team total in the Twenty20 format at the Brian Lara Stadium. The previous highest T20 total at this venue was 172/6 by St Lucia Zouks on Saturday morning against St Kitts and Nevis Patriots.

Munro moves up the charts:

14 – Number of fifty-plus scores for Colin Munro in the history of CPL; the 3rd most 50+ scores for any player in this league. Chris Gayle leads the list with 17 fifty-plus scores which included four tons while Lendl Simmons scored 16 fifties thus far.

A rare match without Rashid completing his quota:

4 – This match is only the 4th in Twenty20 format where Rashid Khan did not get to bowl his 4th over despite his team bowling in 20 overs. The previous three instances are:

– Bowled 2.2 overs (2.2-0-4-3) in the 2017 T20 against Namibia where Afghanistan took 19.2 overs to bowl the opponent out.

– Bowled only one over (1-0-13-0) as captain during a Shpageeza T20 league match last year against Mis Ainak Knights.

– During the BBL 2019-20 against Hobart Hurricanes, Rashid got to bowl only three overs as conceded 35 runs in three overs including three sixes.

Bravo @ 3000:

3014 – Darren Bravo completed 3000 runs in the Twenty20 format when he was past his score of 40. More than half of Bravo’s T20 format runs (1527 runs) came in the Caribbean Premier League itself.