Cremer returns to Zimbabwe squad for Bangladesh serie

Cremer returns to Zimbabwe squad for Bangladesh series

Zimbabwe v Ireland 3rd ODI preview
Cremer returns to Zimbabwe squad for Bangladesh series. (Photo Source: Associated Press)

Cremer returns to Zimbabwe squad for Bangladesh series: Zimbabwe have announced their squad for upcoming limited-overs matches against Bangladesh. Elton Chigumbura will lead the 16-member squad for both the 3 ODIs and the 2 T20Is series, starting from November 7. The Zimbabwe national selectors have recalled leg-spinner Graeme Cremer and wicketkeeper-batsman Regis Chakabva for the series, a Zimbabwe Cricket release confirmed.

After suffering humiliating back-to-back ODI and T20I series defeats at home to Afghanistan in the last two weeks, Zimbabwe selectors have fast-tracked the return of their best spin bowler, Cremer who was declared fit for the tour after passing a late fitness test.

Facing an in-form team the Bangladeshi Tigers, who have already triumphed Pakistan, India and South Africa in their backyard this year and are currently ranked seventh on the ICC ODI rankings, Dav Whatmore cannot afford to leave his best spinner behind.

Notable absentees in the last team are senior players, Hamilton Masakadza and Vusi Sibanda who were axed months ago. Brian Chari, Kevin Kasuza, Tinotenda Mutombodzi and Christopher Mpofu, who were all part of Zimbabwe’s limited-overs squad which lost at home to Afghanistan, were omitted from the national team, but will join the Zimbabwe A squad for a home series against Bangladesh A.

Chakabva was included in the team on the back of a strong performance for the A team against Ireland in Harare, where he scored a century in both innings. Cremer made the squad after recovering from an ankle injury. He last played for Zimbabwe earlier this month, during the home series against Pakistan, taking four wickets from four matches.

Mashonaland Eagles’ captain Tinotenda Mutombodzi will lead Zimbabwe A for the three one-dayers, with Matebeleland Tuskers’ captain Godwill Mamhiyo deputising while the two players will swap roles for the four-day matches.

Zimbabwe squad (T20Is and ODIs):

Elton Chigumbura (c), Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva, Chamu Chibhabha, Tendai Chisoro, Graeme Cremer, Craig Ervine, Luke Jongwe, Neville Madziva, Wellington Masakadza, Richmond Mutumbami, Taurai Muzarabani, John Nyumbu, Tinashe Panyangara, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams.

Zimbabwe A one-day squad:

Tinotenda Mutombodzi (c), Ryan Burl, Brian Chari, Trevor Garwe, Kevin Kasuza, Godwill Mamhiyo, Prince Masvaure, Peter Moor, Tapiwa Mufudza, Natsai M`shangwe, Christopher Mpofu, Victor Nyauchi, Kudzai Sauramba, Donald Tiripano, Brian Vitori.

Zimbabwe A four-day squad:

Godwill Mamhiyo (c), Brian Chari, Trevor Garwe, Joylord Gumbie, Roy Kaia, Hamilton Masakadza, Prince Masavaure, Peter Moor, Tapiwa Mufudza, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Natsai M’shangwe, Victor Nyauchi, Vusi Sibanda, Donald Tiripano, Brian Vitori.