Asia Cup: Top 5 records held by India in tournament history

India have won seven Asia Cup titles (six in ODI format and once in T20I), which is the most number of titles for a team.

View : 508

5 Min Read

Indian team
Indian team celebrates with the Asia Cup trophy. (Photo Source: Twitter)

India are the most successful side in the history of the Asia Cup. They won the first-ever edition of the competition in 1984 as well the first T20I edition played in 2016. As of now, no team has managed to win the Asia Cup more times than India.

India have won the tournament seven times so far - six ODI titles and one T20I title. Sri Lanka are second in the list with six titles followed by Pakistan who have won the tournament twice. Having dominated the tournament more than any other team, India also hold several records in the Asia Cup. 

The Men in Blue will have a chance to extend their domination further in the tournament when Asia Cup 2023 gets underway. So as the Rohit Sharma-led side get ready for the upcoming competition, here is a look at five major records held by India in the Asia Cup.

5. Most individual centuries in Asia Cup (ODI)

Along with Pakistan, India currently hold the record for most individual centuries in the Asia Cup. Both the teams have registered 16 individual centuries in the tournament. For India, the first player to score a century in the Asia Cup was Navjot Singh Sidhu who scored 104 not out against Bangladesh in 1990.

So far, 11 players from India have scored century in the Asia Cup. Virat Kohli holds the record for scoring most number of centuries as an Indian player with three centuries in the continental championship.

Apart from him, Shikhar Dhawan (2), Suresh Raina (2) and Sachin Tendulkar (2) have also scored multiple Asia Cup centuries. The other Indian players to score a century in the competition are Rahul Dravid, Sourav Ganguly, Sidhu, Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma.

Page1 / 5

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store