IND vs AUS: Why was Glenn Maxwell adjudged run-out even after Dinesh Karthik disturbed the stumps

Glenn Maxwell's dismissal caused some confusion among the fans on social media.

Dinesh Karthik
info
Dinesh Karthik (Photo Source: Twitter)
Chaitanya Prakash
CHAITANYA PRAKASH

Jr. Staff Writer

View : 2.3K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The third and final T20I between India and Australia at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium on Sunday, September 25, saw a moment of confusion after Australian star all-rounder Glenn Maxwell was run-out in dramatic fashion. 

Australia got off to a rollicking start after they were put in to bat by the toss-winning skipper Rohit Sharma, thanks to a scathing assault by the make-shift opener Cameron Green. But the hosts pulled things back nicely after the departure of the explosive opener and dealt a big blow to the Aussie by sending back Glenn Maxwell cheaply.

Maxwell, who is known for his ruthless hitting in the shortest format of the game, looked struggling at the crease and in an attempt of stealing a second run, found himself back in the pavilion. Axar Patel's bullet throw in the eighth over caught Maxwell well short of the crease, but the Indian wicketkeeper Dinesh Kartik was guilty of making contact with the stumps before the ball did.

The players from both sides were ready for the next delivery before the third umpire opted for another angle, which showed one bail still intact on the stumps, meaning that the batter was out according to the MCC laws.

The MCC law clarifies Maxwell's bewildering dismissal

The law states, "If one bail is off, it shall be sufficient for the purpose of putting the wicket down to remove the remaining bail or to strike or pull any of the three stumps out of the ground."

According to the above law, if one bail remains intact on the stumps, the batter can still be adjudged run-out if the ball hits the stumps or dislodges the remaining bail. Glenn Maxwell was clearly frustrated by the decision as his horrible series continued with another low score.

Dinesh Karthik was the most relieved person in the aftermath of the incident as he had seemingly made a mess of a straightforward run-out chance which could've proved really costly for the Men in Blue.