IND vs SA: Gautam Gambhir picks India XI for Centurion Test, includes just one spinner

The first Test will be contested at the SuperSport Park Cricket Stadium in Centurion from December 26, Tuesday.

View : 2.9K

2 Min Read

Gautam Gambhir and Indian Test team
Gautam Gambhir and Indian Test team. (Photo Source: Twitter)

India and South Africa are poised for a showdown in the upcoming two-match Test series, a crucial fixture in the World Test Championship (WTC) 2023-25 cycle. The opening Test is scheduled at the SuperSport Park Cricket Stadium in Centurion starting from Tuesday, December 26.

Ahead of the first Test, former India cricketer Gautam Gambhir has unveiled his India playing XI. Gambhir has thrown his support behind the opening duo of Rohit Sharma and Yashasvi Jaiswal. The India captain, is particularly impressive as a Test opener, while Jaiswal will be playing in South Africa for the first time. Occupying the pivotal No.3 spot is Shubman Gill, the position that has been played by the veteran Cheteshwar Pujara over the years. Meanwhile, former Indian captain Virat Kohli is set to assume his customary position at No.4.

Also Read: 'Would’ve been a terrible choice' - Gautam Gambhir on BCCI not starting IPL in India

Gambhir's choices for the middle order include Shreyas Iyer at No.5 and wicketkeeper-batter KL Rahul at No.6. The cricket veteran opted for a lone spinner and expressed uncertainty between Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin. He entrusted Shardul Thakur with the role of the seam-bowling all-rounder. He feels Prasidh Krishna will make his debut, and is expected to join Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj who will be leading the pace attack. 

India will set its sight on a Test series triumph in South Africa, seeking to establish a record of winning series in all SENA countries at least on one occasion. With a formidable combination of rich pace options and emerging batting talents, complemented by the experienced duo of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, team India stands poised to clinch victory in South Africa, aiming for a historic milestone.

Here is Gautam Gambhir’s India 11 for 1st Test: 

Rohit Sharma (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja/ R Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store