IPL 2023: Mumbai Indians retained Players, released players, & Purse Remaining ahead of Mini Auction

MI had a forgettable IPL 2022.

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)
Karthik Nair

Jr. Staff Writer

View : 7.7K

34 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the Indian Premier League (IPL) history in terms of achievements and have a record five titles to their name. However, things have not gone their way in the last couple of seasons with the 2022 edition being the most forgettable one where MI finished at the rock bottom.

They would be hoping to revamp their squad by all possible means and have made some important retentions and releases ahead of the high-octane IPL 2023 auction that is scheduled to be held in Kochi on December 23. 

Mumbai Indians retain their core players, Kieron Pollard retires

However, ahead of the final list, Caribbean all-rounder and one of the finest servants of the Mumbai Indians Kieron Pollard announced his retirement from IPL immediately. He would now be serving the franchise as the batting coach.

Therefore, Pollard’s position as a player which is now vacant needs to be filled up and it now remains to be seen whom Mumbai Indians will be appointing. But, the former champions have retained the core members ahead of the IPL auction including the likes of skipper Rohit Sharma, pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah, and middle-order sensation Suryakumar Yadav. 

Ishan Kishan, who was also the costliest buy last season, roped in at a staggering INR 15.25 crore, has also been retained despite being completely off-color during crucial phases in 2022. 

Ishan scored 418 runs in the 14 matches that he played averaging 32.15 and a strike rate of 120.11 including three half-centuries with his highest individual score being 81*. Apart from the above players, Tilak Varma has also been retained. 

Mumbai Indians Released Players List

Player Role
Kieron Pollard (retired) All-Rounder
Anmolpreet Singh Batsman
Aryan Juyal Batsman/Wicket-keeper
Basil Thampi Bowler
Daniel Sams Bowler
Fabian Allen Bowler
Jaydev Unadkat Bowler
Mayank Markande Bowler
Murugan Ashwin Bowler
Rahul Buddhi Batsman
Riley Meredith Bowler
Sanjay Yadav All-Rounder
Tymal Mills Bowler

Mumbai Indians Retained Players List

Player Role
Rohit Sharma Batsman
Jasprit Bumrah Bowler
Suryakumar Yadav Batsman
Ishan Kishan Batsman
Dewald Brevis Batsman
Tilak Varma Batsman
Jofra Archer Bowler
Tim David All-Rounder
Mohd Arshad Khan Batsman
Ramandeep Singh Batsman
Hrithik Shokeen All-Rounder
Arjun Tendulkar Bowler
Tristan Stubbs Batsman
Kumar Kartikeya Bowler
Jason Behrendorff Bowler
Akash Madhwal Bowler

Mumbai Indians Purse Remaining

INR 20.55 CR