IPL’s digital rating was 130 million and PSL’s is more than 150 million: Najam Sethi

The 2023 Pakistan Super League was won by Lahore Qalandars as they defeated Multan Sultans by one run.

View : 2K

2 Min Read

Najam Sethi PSL PCB
Najam Sethi. (Photo by Arif Ali/AFP/Getty Images)

The eighth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) concluded on Saturday, March 18 with Lahore Qalandars claiming their second consecutive title. The Shaheen Afridi-led side defeated Multan Sultans by a solitary run in the summit clash. Notably, Qalandars also won their maiden title in the 2022 season against the same opponents.

Meanwhile, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Najam Sethi has dropped a bombshell statement amid the ongoing tussle between India and Pakistan over the 2023 Asia Cup. Hosting of this year’s continental championship has become an apple of discord between the Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) and the PCB.

BCCI seem firm on its stance on not travelling to the neighbouring country due to the political tensions between both nations. On the other hand, PCB is arguing that if no other country is having security concerns then why BCCI is adamant on not coming over.

While speaking in a press conference recently, Sethi compared the Indian Premier League (IPL) to PSL. He claimed that the Pakistan T20 league had better digital ratings than the Indian T20 extravaganza.

“Let’s talk about digital. PSL was only at the half stage, so I asked about our digital rating. Najam Sethi show used to have a 0.5 rating on TV, whereas PSL is getting a rating of more than 11. So, it would be 18 or 20, when it completes,” Sethi said as quoted by News18.

“Over 150 million people watched it digitally. It is not a small thing. At the same stage, IPL’s digital rating was 130 million and PSL’s is more than 150 million. So this is a great success for Pakistan," he added.

Lahore Qalandars beat Multan Sultans to clinch PSL 2023 final

The 2023 Pakistan Super League final was played between Lahore Qalandars and Multan Sultans at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore on Saturday, March 18. Shaheen Afridi and Co. defeated Multan Sultans by one run to win the title. Qalandars opted to bat first and scored 200/6 in 20 overs. Meanwhile, Sultans, led by Mohammad Rizwan were reduced to 199/8 in their 20 overs.

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store