ODI World Cup 2023: MCC pass their verdict on Angelo Mathews' 'timed-out' dismissal

The MCC stated in a statement that both the umpires learned that the delay came past two minutes and that Timed-out had not been called before the appeal of the opposition team.

View : 198

2 Min Read

MCC-and-Angelo-Mathews
info
MCC-and-Angelo-Mathews. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), the former governing body of cricket, passed their verdict on Angelo Mathews' 'timed-out' dismissal. The incident happened during Sri Lanka's ODI World Cup 2023 match against Bangladesh on November 6, at the Arun Jaitely stadium, in Delhi.

Mathews was not ready to face the ball within that two two-minute which was guaranteed by the law as he took more than 90 seconds to get to the 30-yard circle. However, he then faced an issue with his helmet, delaying him from being on the mark to face the bowler. The MCC stated released a statement that both the umpires learned that the delay came past two minutes and that Timed-out had not been called before the appeal of the opposition team. 

According to the MCC, the Sri Lankan batter did not inform either the umpires or the Bangladesh skipper Shakib Al Hasan as he would need a replacement for the particular equipment. Instead, he just signalled at the dressing room and the substitutes came and handed it over to him. Notably, Angelo Mathews further consulted umpires and Shakib and told them what exactly happened. The officials might have allowed him to be at the crease, but they declared him as timed-out.

At the time of the appeal two minutes had elapsed, Umpires correctly gave Mathews out: MCC 

Furthermore, the MCC statement mentioned that the umpires' call in the ODI World Cup 2023 encounter between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh was legitimate as the batter took more than two minutes to take the strike. Moreover, the umpires should have sorted it out if the opposition team captain had withdrawn his appeal. And here, Shakib decided to hold his appeal and the umpires' call was within the Laws of Cricket.

"Given that Time had not been called, and that at the time of the appeal more than two minutes had elapsed, the umpires correctly gave Mathews out. In fact, there was no other action for the umpires to take within the Laws of Cricket. There have been several questions which MCC has been asked since the incident on Monday and the Club would like to address these," the MCC concluded in their statement.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:

googletelegraminstagramwhatsappyoutubethreadstwitter

Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store