PCA names multiple stands in Mohali Stadium after India cricketers Yuvraj Singh and Harbhajan Singh

India to play their first T20I against Australia in Mohali.

View : 2.6K

2 Min Read

Yuvraj Singh
Yuvraj Singh. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Just before India’s first T20I against Australia, the Punjab Cricket Association (PCA) has decided to rename two of their stands at IS Bindra PCA International Stadium in the name of Harbajan Singh and Yuvraj Singh. The homegrown lads are considered as the pride of the land and that’s why the board has decided to honour them by naming a stand by their name.

The famous Terrace block is renamed after the off-spinner Harbajan Singh who helped India win multiple games including a T20 World Cup and the World Cup in 2011. ‘Bhajji’ as he is famously known as has represented India in 103 Tests, 236 ODI and 28 T20Is and picked up a total of 711 wickets in all the three formats. 

Meanwhile, the North pavilion of the stadium is named after Yuvraj Singh who played a pivotal role in order to help India win the 2011 World Cup. He also played a significant role in the 2007 T20 World Cup where India beat Pakistan in the finals. Other than these two massive achievements, the southpaw also represented India in 40 Tests, 304 ODIs and 58 T20I matches and scored 11,778 runs in all three formats. He also has 148 international wickets to his name.

“In a historic decision, the PCA executive committee, under president Gulzar Inder Chahal, has decided to name the Terrace Block and North Pavillion stands after legendary Indian cricketers Harbhajan Singh and Yuvraj Singh, respectively. Both have been icons for Punjab as well as Indian cricket and fans as well players will be inspired on seeing the stands being named after these two cricketers,” PCA secretary Dilsher Khanna told The Indian Express.

Mohali Stadium to host India versus Australia T20I on September 20

International cricket is set to return to Mohali with Australia challenging India in the first T20I of the series on 20th of September. India will be coming to the series following their Asia Cup campaign, while Australia will travel after the New Zealand series. Nagpur and Hyderabad are scheduled to host the remaining two matches of the series. Meanwhile, South Africa will play three T20Is and three ODIs against India after the T20I series against Australia. 

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store