Proteas speedster Marco Jansen named ICC Emerging Men's Cricketer of the Year 2022

Marco Jansen scored 234 runs and took 36 wickets in Test cricket in 2022.

Marco Jansen
Marco Jansen. (Photo Source: Darrian Traynor/Getty Images)
Karthik Nair

Jr. Staff Writer

View : 49

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

South Africa’s Marco Jansen has been adjudged the Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year 2022 for his outstanding contributions with the ball as well as with the bat in 2022. While the tall cricketer could not make much impact in the white-ball format, he proved that he is the Proteas’ next big thing in the longest format going forward. 

Jansen is currently representing the Sunrisers Eastern Cape in the inaugural SA20 2023. He showcased his batting abilities during a fixture against the MI Cape Town scoring a match-winning 27-ball 66 where he clobbered skipper and seasoned spinner Rashid Khan for 28 runs in an over.

A promising 2022 for Marco Jansen

Marco Jansen managed only three scalps in white-ball cricket. He took two wickets in One Day Internationals and got a solitary T20I scalp. However, it was Test cricket at which he excelled in the year gone by taking 36 wickets at 19.02 and scored 234 runs averaging 21.27.

The tall speedster’s best performance came during The Oval Test match against England last summer, where he made a precious 30 with the bat that helped the Proteas in posting a respectable total of 118 on the board. Marco Jansen then made the ball do the talking outstandingly well by bagging a maiden five-wicket haul on an excellent batting surface.

He accounted for most of the Three Lions’ famed batting lineup including the likes of Alex Lees, Zak Crawley, Joe Root, Harry Brook and Ben Foakes to finish with stupendous bowling figures of 5/35 thereby, bundling the hosts out for just 158.

The youngster was one of the key players responsible for South Africa staying at the second position in the ICC WTC rankings for the most part of 2022 as they showcased impressive performances both at home and away red-ball series.

Marco Jansen pipped the likes of India’s Arshdeep Singh, New Zealand’s emerging batter Finn Allen and Afghanistan’s Ibrahim Zadran to bag this prestigious award.

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store