SA vs ZIM: South Africa penalized five runs after Quinton de Kock's trivial error
Zimbabwe were handed an extra delivery as well in the final over of the first innings.
View : 2.3K
2 Min Read
South Africa's encounter against Zimbabwe was interrupted by relentless rain in Hobart. Zimbabwe skipper Craig Ervine elected to bat first after winning the toss before the uninvited guests arrived. The game was eventually reduced to nine overs per side. The Protean bowlers were on top of things for the most part of the innings but were guilty of being sloppy at the end, especially in the final over, when Zimbabwe were handed five penalty runs after Quinton de Kock's mischief.
The Zimbabwe batters struggled for timing earlier in the innings and with the side reeling at 19/4 in the fourth over, the young Wesley Madhevere stepped up for the African outfit. He scored a quickfire 35 off 18 deliveries in a crucial 52-run stand with Milton Shumba. The latter scoop off Anrich Nortje's second delivery off the final over yielded five penalty runs in favor of his side.
South Africa were penalized because the relay from Lungi Ngidi hit Quinton de Kock's gloves, which was placed on the field by the keeper in hopes of gathering the ball for a quick throw. Not only the Proteas were penalized by five runs, but it was deemed a dead ball as well, handing the Zimbabweans an extra delivery in the final over. But they could not make it count, as Shumba was dismissed on the final delivery of the first innings.
According to the rule by the MCC, "the umpire shall award five penalty runs to the batting side. The penalty for a No ball or a Wide shall stand. Additionally, runs completed by the batsmen shall be credited to the batting side, together with the run in progress if the batsmen had already crossed at the instant of the offence."
"Inform the other umpire and the captain of the fielding side of the reason for this action. Inform the batsmen and, as soon as practicable, the captain of the batting side of what has occurred."