South Africa Women name 15-member squad for Women's T20 World Cup, Dane Van Niekerk misses out again

Sune Luus will be leading South Africa Women in the upcoming Women's T20 World Cup 2023.

View : 354

2 Min Read

South Africa Women
South Africa Women (Photo Source: Twitter)

South Africa have officially announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2022 that they will be hosting from February 10 to 26. Despite iconic skipper Dane Van Niekerk’s absence, the Proteas squad looks very strong on paper and would be expected to showcase outstanding on-field performances by banking on home advantage. The team will be led by Sune Luus.

Dane Van Niekerk was excluded from the South Africa squad for the ongoing tri-series against India and the West Indies as she failed to meet the national benchmark standards which was an eligibility criteria for selection. The failed fitness test has also gone on to cost her a place in the national team’s WT20 World Cup squad.

A horrific leg injury had put her out of action last year as a result of which Dane could also not participate in the Women’s ODI World Cup in New Zealand. Meanwhile, Dane’s partner Marizanne Kapp is one of the seasoned and key members of the South Africa squad. Other important players in this squad include the likes of Lara Goodall, Chloe Tryon, Laura Wolvaardt, Ayabonga Khaka, and Shabnim Ismail, to name a few.

South Africa Women look to rewrite history

Over the years, South Africa have been doing exceptionally well in women’s cricket, but have never succeeded in going all the way. In fact, they are yet to make the finals of a global tournament having finished as the semifinalists of the 2017 and 2022 World Cup and the 2020 edition of the T20 World Cup in Australia.

Proteas will be hoping for a revival in fortunes this time around as they look forward to rewrite history in their own backyard. They are placed in Group A comprising teams like the reigning champions Australia, New Zealand, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

South Africa will kickstart their campaign on February 10 against Sri Lanka at the Newlands Cricket Ground in Cape Town. They will then meet New Zealand three days later at Boland Park in Paarl. The Proteas will then lock horns with the toughest opponents of the group Australia on February 18 and play their final group game against Bangladesh on the 21st.

Here’s South Africa’s 15-member squad for Women’s World Cup 2023: Annerie Dercksen, Marizanne Kapp, Lara Goodall, Ayabonga Khaka, Chloe Tryon, Nadine de Klerk, Shabnim Ismail, Tazmin Brits, Masabata Klaas, Laura Wolvaardt, Sinalo Jafta, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Sune Luus (c), Anneke Bosch, Delmi Tucker.

 For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store