T20 World Cup 2022: Cameron Green replaces Josh Inglis in Australia's squad

Josh Inglis sustained a cut to his right hand while playing golf, which ruled him out of the tournament.

View : 1.6K

2 Min Read

Cameron Green
Cameron Green (Photo Source: Twitter)

After Josh Inglis, Australia’s backup wicketkeeper-batter was forced to pull out of the T20 World Cup 2022 owing to his freak injury that he sustained while playing golf recently, Australia named Cameron Green as his replacement. Green has been very impressive of late and has been giving Australia a dream start while opening the batting innings.

The 23-year-old was the frontrunner for the role, thanks to his impressive performances that made the team’s head coach Andrew McDonald have him as a ‘discussion point’. The 23-year-old explosive batter did a brilliant job during Australia’s away series against India last month, and also led his side to a win in one of the three T20Is.

Though Australia lost the series, Green managed to bag two half-centuries in three games as he opened for the team in the absence of senior pro David Warner. Given his form, defending champions Australia might as well deploy him in the opening slot if any unforeseen situation arises during the Super 12 stage of their campaign.

Australia are set to kick start their campaign on October 22 as they take on New Zealand in the first game of the Super 12. The two teams had played in the finals of the tournament last year and the Men in Yellow lifted the prestigious trophy. The Aaron Finch-led Australia would look to script history by becoming the first team to defend their ICC T20 World Cup title.

Multiple teams are currently facing injury issues in their squad, and Australia just joined the bandwagon. While Inglis is a competent cricketer, his primary responsibility in the Australia squad was to serve as Matthew Wade's backup wicketkeeper, therefore unless Wade sustained an injury, Inglis might not have played during the tournament. 

Australia’s updated T20 World Cup 2022 squad: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store