T20 World Cup 2022: Here's why Bangladesh's last ball was called no ball against Zimbabwe

The players from Bangladesh and Zimbabwe were called back to bowl the final delivery of the contest after stumper Nurul Hasan caught the ball in front of the stumps off the final delivery.

Bangladesh Team
Bangladesh Team. (Photo Source: Twitter)
Karthik Nair
Karthik Nair

Staff Writer

View : 1.5K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Bangladesh survived a huge scare in the form of Zimbabwe as they prolonged their tournament hopes with a hard-fought three-run victory in their ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Super 12 encounter at The Gabba in Brisbane on Sunday, October 30. However, the Asian side had their hearts in their mouths when a no-ball call was signaled just after the final ball of the contest was bowled and the Shakib Al Hasan-led side had started celebrating.

Mosaddek Hossain had made Zimbabwe lose their plot by taking two crucial wickets in the final over despite being hit for a six off his fourth delivery by Richard Ngarava. He had the batter stumped off the penultimate delivery as Blessing Muzarabani walked out to bat with the Zimbabweans needing five runs off the final ball.

Muzarabani was stumped by wicketkeeper Nurul Hasan off the final delivery as Bangladesh started celebrating a good win and handshakes were exchanged between both teams. Nonetheless, when the players were walking back, the on-field umpires referred the dismissal to the third umpire.

Replays showed that the stumper had collected the ball right in front of the stumps and not only was the batter signaled not out but also a 'NO BALL' message flashed on the screens which left the players with absolutely no choice other than walking back to the field to complete bowling the remaining delivery legally.

What do the MCC laws say?

According to Law 27.3.1 of the MCC Laws of Cricket, "The wicket-keeper shall remain wholly behind the wicket at the striker's end from the moment the ball comes into play until a ball delivered by the bowler touches the bat or person of the striker or passes the wicket at the striker's end or the striker attempts a run."

Law 27.3.2 states, "In the event of the wicket-keeper contravening this Law, the striker's end umpire shall call and signal No ball as soon as applicable after the delivery of the ball."

Law 39, on the other hand, states that a batsman cannot be stumped out if it is a No ball.

After being called back, Muzarabani was on strike to face the final delivery of the contest and all he had to do was somehow find a boundary. Unfortunately for him, that did not happen as the tail-ender swung and missed a full pitched delivery that was bowled outside the off stump. The Bangladesh players could now afford to celebrate while Zimbabwe suffered their first defeat of the tournament.