Exclusive Article

'When you do it for the first time, you get warning' - Wasim Jaffer clears air on Virat Kohli's fake fielding row

Virat Kohli's controversial incident in the field has been doing the rounds in the media.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli (Photo Source: Twitter)
Chaitanya Prakash
Chaitanya Prakash

Staff Writer

View : 2.8K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

India's sensational victory against Bangladesh in a hotly contested affair in Adelaide has them firm favorites to make it to the semis. While Indian batting ace Virat Kohli's record-setting innings was the talk of the town, his mischief in the field made the headlines in the aftermath of the win. However, former Indian opener Wasim Jaffer has cleared the air regarding the controversial incident.

Bangladesh's Nurul Hasan accused the former Indian skipper, Virat Kohli of fake fielding after the Indian ace had seemingly mimicked a throw despite not being in contact with the ball. According to the MCC laws, a fielder found guilty of distracting the batting side can be handed a five-run penalty with the ball being called dead.

Jaffer doesn't think umpires would've penalised India

But both the umpires and the batters missed Kohli's action, and it went unpunished. Had the incident been penalized, the outcome of the match might have been different, as Bangladesh eventually lost the rain-curtailed game by five runs. However, former Indian cricketer Wasim Jaffer explained that Indians wouldn't have been penalized since it was Kohli's first offense in the game, which only warrants a warning from the umpires and no penalty.

"Even if the umpires did not see, there are enough cameras to have the evidence. But as far as I know, when you do it for the first time, you get a warning, and you don't get penalized straightaway. I don't think Virat Kohli did it a second time, it was the first time, which would have probably invited a warning from the umpires to the captain and Kohli. I don't think it was the second offense so as far as the law is concerned, I don't think Bangladesh would've been awarded penalty runs for the first offense straight away," said Wasim Jaffer on 'BatBricks7 presents Run Ki Runneeti' show on CricTracker.