Women's T20 World Cup 2023: Meg Lanning surpasses Ricky Ponting with record fifth ICC title

Australia clinched their sixth T20 World Cup title with a 19-run win over hosts South Africa in Cape Town.

View : 111

2 Min Read

Ashleigh Gardner and Meg Lanning
Ashleigh Gardner and Meg Lanning. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Meg Lanning surpassed the likes of legendary skippers Ricky Ponting and MS Dhoni in the list of most ICC titles won as captain as she led Australia to a fifth crown, having defeated hosts South Africa by 19 runs in the summit clash of the Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 at Newlands in Cape Town. 

Notably, Australia also completed a hat-trick of winning T20 World Cup titles as they lifted the famous trophy in 2018 and 2020 as well. With another trophy in the bag, Lanning is now the most successful captain in cricket history. With a win over South Africa, she also became the first captain to clinch three consecutive T20 World Cup titles as well.

Lanning ensured Australia's dominance in the ICC tournaments with a 50-over World Cup title in 2022 and grabbed her fourth T20 World Cup title with her latest achievement. Lanning first lifted the ICC trophy as captain in 2014 when Australia won their third T20 World Cup title.

Lanning holds amazing numbers as captain in both ODIs and T20Is. Under her leadership, the mighty Australian team has won 76 T20Is and 69 ODIs so far. This number makes her arguably the best-ever captain in cricket history, and now even a step ahead of legendary Ponting with five ICC titles.

Ponting's first ICC trophy as captain came in 2003 when Australia beat India in the World Cup final. Ponting also guided Australia to the 2007 ODI World Cup title and to two Champions Trophy titles (2006 and 2009). 

After Lanning's five and Ponting's four ICC titles, the former Indian captain MS Dhoni comes at the third spot for having won three ICC trophies. He guided India to the 2007 T20 World Cup, the 2011 ODI World Cup, and to the ICC Champions Trophy triumph in 2013.

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store