Indian Premier League 2023 Quiz

The sixteenth edition of the cash-rich league is all set to kick off on March 31, 2023, as Gujarat Titans lock horns with Chennai Super Kings.

View : 1.5K

3 Min Read

IPL captains
IPL captains. (Photo Source: IPL/Twitter)

The brand new sixteenth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is just a few hours away from its opening match. Defending champions Gujarat Titans (GT) will lock horns with four-time winners Chennai Super Kings (CSK) on Friday, March 31, 2023, at the iconic Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The Hardik Pandya-led Titans will come up against Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s Super Kings in an exciting season opener.

The cash-rich league has come a long way ever since its inception way back in the year 2008. Shane Warne became the first captain ever to clinch the IPL trophy as his Rajasthan Royals (RR) side defeated Super Kings by a margin of three wickets in the summit clash in Navi Mumbai. Considered a weak team before the start of the tournament, RR stunned everyone by claiming the title in the inaugural edition.

Since then, Mumbai Indians (MI) has been the most successful team in the history of the competition as Rohit Sharma has led them to victories in five editions 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020.

MS Dhoni has tasted success the most time after Rohit as he has won the trophy four times with CSK in 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021. The other sides to bag the title are Deccan Chargers (2009), Kolkata Knight Riders (2012 and 2014), Sunrisers Hyderabad (2016), and Gujarat Titans (2022).

From Brendon McCullum’s blazing knock of 158* off just 73 against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) on the opening night of IPL 2008 to Gujarat's victory in their first season itself in 2022, the IPL has witnessed some of the most memorable and epic performances by players over the years. 

Virat Kohli’s scintillating 2016 season in which he hammered 973 runs, Chris Gayle and AB de Villiers' heroics for RCB, and CSK’s comeback story are a few of the most cherished moments from the cash-rich league.

Jos Buttler struck the second-most runs in an IPL season in 2022

England’s limited-overs skipper Jos Buttler turned into beast mode in the 2022 edition as he slammed 863 runs in 17 innings at an average of 57.53 and a strike rate of 149.05 with four centuries and as many half-centuries.

He equalled Kohli’s record of most tons (four) in a single edition. By virtue of the same, he registered the second-most runs in an IPL edition with Kohli topping the chart because of his mind-boggling 2016 season.

With the sixteenth season just about to begin, fans around the globe are eagerly waiting for the mega tournament to kick start. Cricket fans look forward to another entertaining and enthralling IPL campaign as 74 matches are set to be staged across 12 cities in India from March 31 to May 28 for almost two months.

Let us test your knowledge with this quiz based on the history of the Indian Premier League:

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store